Music Festival Abbey

30 Aug

So, here is the last of what I’ve been thinking of as my “catch-up” posts – any Monster High dolls I post about from hereon in will be current releases (as long as I post about them quickly enough, ho hum). Anyhoo, I think I mentioned in my post about Music Festival Venus and Clawdeen that I was holding out on Abbey. She’s never been one of my favourite characters, and I just got stubborn about it, even when the prices dropped sharply. There must have been a load of these dolls produced because here in the UK, they have been the cheapest MHs I’ve ever seen for sale.

However. (There’s always a “however”, isn’t there) Mr Bat knew I didn’t have her and ended up getting her for me. And really, I was glad.

IMG_3332.JPG

For starters, she isn’t as pastelly-girly-pinky-bluey in this wave, and I quite like her bright colour scheme. For seconds, she has a very pretty face. Abbey often gets blue or purple lips, but I think I like her better like this, with a little touch of warmth to contrast with her skin.

IMG_3335.JPG

There are a few issues with Abbey, although none of them are major:

* The headscarf. Silly as it sounds, this is the main reason I didn’t buy her in the first place. She’s got this very bright, hippy kind of outfit with what appears to be a school tie wrapped round her head. I didn’t get it. I’ve warmed to it a bit now – you’ll notice I’ve not even taken it off for her photos – but I still think that its a great big jarring note in her design.

* Her boots. I actually love her seethrough ice boots, they look great. However, there are two lots of purple trim on each boot, one round the ankle and one round the toe, and these are held on in the box by rubber bands. Once the rubber bands are broken, say by removing the boots from her feet, the pieces of purple trim kind of just sit there. They don’t really click into place effectively. Basically, they are going to go missing in five minutes during even gentle play. What? Why would the designers do this?? It makes absolutely no sense to me.

* This is a little, subtle thing but it annoyed me nonetheless – Abbey’s facial glitter goes OVER her eyelashes, having presumably been sprayed on last. I’ve never noticed if this is the case with my other Abbeys, so I’ll have to go back and check – it might have been that the kind of light I was photographing her in today made me notice this for the first time with this doll. What this means, for anybody who likes photographing dolls, is that unless you are taking pictures in the gentlest kind of ambient light, you are likely to get a reflection right off her eye that obliterates her eyelashes when you look at the photo. Annoying!

Anyway, one very nice thing about getting Abbey is that I now have all the small-box dolls from this wave. This rarely happens in my collection, and it deserves a group photo:

IMG_3339.JPG

IMG_3338.JPG

(Did you notice I straightened Clawdeen’s hair? It doesn’t show up very well on here but its really made a huge difference, it had got ridiculously bushy and now it looks great again).

IMG_3342.JPG

IMG_3333.JPG

IMG_3341.JPG

IMG_3334.JPG

IMG_3343.JPG

IMG_3336.JPG

6 Responses to “Music Festival Abbey”

  1. Andrea August 31, 2014 at 4:52 pm #

    She is a sweetie and I like the warm lip color very much, it makes her features look more alive. Mr Bat was very thoughtful and wise in securing her for you.

    That scarf is just irritating due to its color, it would look perfect in the fuchsia hue of her dress. Maybe they just chose that odd color to bring in the black from the box design. Who knows.

    Glitter ca be so annoying. I once had one of the shorter FFs, who had even her teeth glittered.

    • barbielea September 1, 2014 at 10:25 pm #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ I’ve been looking at these photos and actually, against a black background I think it looks OK! Like you, I would have preferred fuchsia though.

      Hey, I think I might have that same FF – does she have a Summer face? I noticed that too!

      • Andrea September 2, 2014 at 3:49 pm #

        Yes, she had a Summer mold.

      • barbielea September 2, 2014 at 9:09 pm #

        Same one then πŸ™‚

  2. kewpie83 September 6, 2014 at 1:31 am #

    I have a number of catch up posts to do this month, too. I can’t wait until I’m finally caught up, course then I’ll be worried about not having stuff to talk about! πŸ™‚ Catch 22! Regarding this Abbey, I think she’s one of the prettier ones. Your black and white group photo is so cute!

    • barbielea September 6, 2014 at 10:41 pm #

      This is always a problem for me too Kewpie – well, its not really a problem as (I have seen the pics of your collection so I’m pretty sure its the same for you!) I have enough dolls to sink a battleship and can’t keep up with posting about what I buy, never mind the enormous backlog πŸ™‚ but I worry about it anyway. Go figure!

      Thanks! I really liked how these photos turned out. Monster High are so magical to photograph.

Leave a Reply

