Swimsuit Special 2014 – The Barbie Beach Set

1 Sep

I don’t know about you but September always means Autumn to me. I suppose it depends where you are in the world but over here, the kids are going back to school, the apples are ripening and the weather has taken a nosedive. Sigh. This means that my Swimsuit Special is particularly late this year too … I’m clinging to the fact that despite all the obvious signs, we are still technically on British Summer Time, so here goes.

First off, I want to show you a Barbie Fashion pack that I found recently. Its one I wanted for ages so I’m really pleased. The theme is quite beachy, don’t you think?

IMG_3421.JPG

IMG_3422.JPG

I’m sure you recognise the Lea-faced models πŸ™‚ but just in case, left to right we have:

* My favourite Lea and probably my favourite doll, Horseriding Cali Girl Lea. I rebodied her onto a Fashionista Nicky a while ago, and I’ve been dying to sneak her back onto some photos. I never get tired of her.
* The 2013 Budget Ballerina. This doll has such a pretty face, I can’t believe how cheap she was. She got the swimsuit that meant I felt justified in making this a part of the Swimsuit Special, and her body is a Fashionista Raquelle – not a perfect colour match, but good enough until somebody produces a reasonably-priced pale pivotal.
* Shakira – I’ve had this doll from new, I bought her in a discount shop many years ago. I rebodied her onto a LITD Barbie earlier today. I love the torso joint on these dolls, it makes such a difference in terms of poseability. She’s wearing a great hippie-themed dress, which is the main reason I wanted this set in the first place.

IMG_3431.JPG

IMG_3423.JPG

IMG_3425.JPG

IMG_3428.JPG

IMG_3424.JPG

IMG_3427.JPG

IMG_3429-0.JPG

IMG_3430.JPG

IMG_3433.JPG

10 Responses to “Swimsuit Special 2014 – The Barbie Beach Set”

  1. Night Owl September 2, 2014 at 2:30 am #

    Hi, great outfits & photographs! Your dolls are very pretty, I especially like Shakira – the hair is fantastic!

    • barbielea September 2, 2014 at 9:11 pm #

      Aw, thanks very much Night Owl! These are my favourite kind of dolls. Isn’t her hair amazing? Not sure its really very like Shakira’s though ….

  2. Taswegian1957 September 2, 2014 at 4:31 am #

    Great photos as always. We’re coming into spring in Tasmania but a bit early for swimsuits here just yet. πŸ™‚

    • barbielea September 2, 2014 at 9:10 pm #

      Thanks Taswegian – we are actually experiencing a late summer “heatwave” over here, so we’re probably a similar temperature πŸ™‚

      • Taswegian1957 September 3, 2014 at 3:18 am #

        Not sure about that, there was frost on the ground this morning although it’s pretty warm outside now. πŸ™‚

  3. Andrea September 2, 2014 at 3:48 pm #

    I love the protrait shots and the closet is totally cute. What is the release year? I do love the dress on Cali Girl Lea.

    I can’t blame you for sneaking Cali Girl Lea into the photoshoot, she is adorable. Her necklace seems to be different from my Cali Girl Horseback Leas. Mine have a chain instead of wire.

    • barbielea September 2, 2014 at 9:09 pm #

      Thanks Andrea! I’ve packed the box up now so I can’t check the date, sorry 😦 I’d guess 2011/ 12?

      Really, you think the necklace is different on some Cali Girls? I’ve only ever seen this one, I’ll have to look out for it!

  4. Teresa B September 4, 2014 at 4:40 am #

    I love the Malibu hoodie dress. Also that Lea is my most favorite mold of all. I have one of her however not sure where she is now! πŸ˜‰

    • barbielea September 4, 2014 at 9:11 pm #

      You have the Cali girl? I just love her. I actually have two! Must dig the other one out sometime (she still has her original body and outfit)

      • Teresa B. September 6, 2014 at 12:47 am #

        Yep! I have the one with the red bandanna. I haven’t found an outfit for her though so I believe she is stored away….

Leave a Reply

