Swimsuit Special 2014 – Novi Stars Alie Lectric

2 Sep

As you probably know, there aren’t going to be any more Novi Stars. I, for one, am quite sad about this. They are nicely designed, original and fun. I think they were probably just a bit too different – smaller than Barbies, hardly any facial features, not much emphasis put on the clothes. Its a tough dollyverse we live in, indeed.

IMG_3437.JPG

My swimsuit doll Novi Star tonight comes from the Orbit Beach range. The first, and most striking, thing about Alie Lectric is her enormous mane of purple and black hair, which is wonderfully glamorous. Like the other Novis from this wave, she is in swimwear and a huge, outlandish sunhat:

IMG_3439.JPG

She also sports some killer geometric heels. I’m quite sad that her feet are so small, she can’t share these with other dolls:

IMG_3438.JPG

Last but not least, she owns the oddest pair of sunglasses I have ever seen on a doll:

IMG_3443.JPG

I love her little heart antenna, don’t you? And although I found it a bit strange at first, I have come to really like the way her body colour doesn’t match her head. I’m not sure why this should be the case, but it actually works!

Anyway, here she is with my other Orbit Beach doll, Roe Botik:

IMG_3440.JPG

IMG_3441.JPG

My favourite thing about Novi Stars is their glitter eyes and eyelashes, which really breathe life into them. They are such great dolls to photograph. I’ll miss them.

IMG_3442.JPG

IMG_3444.JPG

IMG_3445.JPG

IMG_3446.JPG

7 Responses to “Swimsuit Special 2014 – Novi Stars Alie Lectric”

  1. Xan September 3, 2014 at 10:44 pm #

    Aww…I wish I had bought some of these dolls before they all disappeared! I remember last year around Christmas time they were selling at one of my local stores for $4 each. My own fault.

    • barbielea September 4, 2014 at 9:06 pm #

      Wow, $4? That’s amazing! I paid Β£6 each for these and thought I’d got a bargain! Well, you could always keep your eye out for good quality second-hand Novis on eBay, maybe??

  2. kewpie83 September 4, 2014 at 4:15 am #

    What a cutie! I wish the line had continued. There was a really cute line advertised that I was hunting for, but alas, it never appeared! I really wanted the one with a TV theme (with curly hair).

    • barbielea September 4, 2014 at 9:08 pm #

      Ah, I don’t think I ever saw that one, Kewpie. I’ll have a look into it, I love curly-haired dolls and kind of wish is got an Ari Roma too. The last line is still floating around here, I really should pick up a few more before they disappear.

      • kewpie83 September 6, 2014 at 1:27 am #

        I should know the name of the character, but she’d be hard to miss– she had a TV in her torso! πŸ™‚

  3. Teresa B September 4, 2014 at 4:37 am #

    These dolls are totes Adorbs! I’ve never seen them here where I live. I probably would have picked them up πŸ™‚ super cute photos!

    • barbielea September 4, 2014 at 9:08 pm #

      Thanks Teresa! Aren’t they cute, though? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

