Swimsuit Special 2014 – Colour Splash Barbie

5 Sep

I found Colour Splash Barbie at another car boot sale recently, and I really bought her for the great dress she was wearing over her swimsuit. However, whether I plan to keep them or not, I always clean up the dolls I find. Colour Splash was a challenge – thick with dirt, hugely matted hair (and glitter strands are SO much fun to try and unknot), and worst of all, she had chewed hands that I had failed to notice. I hate chewed hands, which I think are nearly as bad a problem as facial flaws, so I swapped her body for a new-style one I had lying around. Its a better colour match than Dury’s, which surprised me, but I’m not sure I like the result quite as much. Anyway, here she is now, after a little restyle:

IMG_3452.JPG

IMG_3451.JPG

I’m not sure if she’s staying with me or not, but I have to admit that with her grandiose shell earrings and her wavy, glitttery, streaked hair, she’s a pretty fancy-looking doll for a Beach Barbie. I already have a Skipper from this line – in fact, I have two – so maybe she should stay. What do you think?

IMG_3453.JPG

IMG_3456.JPG

8 Responses to “Swimsuit Special 2014 – Colour Splash Barbie”

  1. discodiva1979 September 5, 2014 at 11:47 pm #

    Keep her! What a great body swap! Nothing worse that a body flaw and or chewed hands-I think her smile got bigger with her beautiful body now!

  2. Teresa B. September 6, 2014 at 12:43 am #

    I say keep too! I have the Kira and I love her. The wavy hair gets me. So pretty!

    • barbielea September 6, 2014 at 9:18 pm #

      I do agree about her hair, Teresa. I love these kind of waves, I’ve just done a re-root and I’m toying with giving her wavy hair like this …

  3. Night Owl September 6, 2014 at 11:05 am #

    You did a great job with the cleaning up, I would definitely keep her, she looks so sweet and happy! Love the earrings too.

    • barbielea September 6, 2014 at 9:19 pm #

      Aren’t the earrings something, Night Owl? Its unusual for me to leave big earrings on a doll, but I actually really like these. Thanks!

  4. Andrea September 6, 2014 at 6:01 pm #

    Your cleaning her up was very successful and she looks like new now. I think you should keep her, she looks so great after your Spa treatment. Very well done, Lea.

    This is one of the bathing suit lines, that I really liked well enough to keep some dolls, even though the glitter strands ara a PITA to handle.

    • barbielea September 6, 2014 at 9:20 pm #

      Thanks Andrea 🙂 I agree about the glitter strands. I hate it when they start curling up and usually just snip them out!

Leave a Reply

