Christmas Sweaters

14 Dec

Christmas is nearly upon us, and I’ve been making my dolls some seasonal sweaters …

IMG_4084.JPG

I got this little broken-necked Skipper as part of a job lot several years ago, and recently I managed to get round to giving her a new hairstyle, a new body (Simba Supermodel) and a new name (Clara). As you might know, I don’t usually name my dolls – I don’t know why, in the past it’s never appealed to me. Imagine my surprise when I found myself thinking one day, “hey! I have too many Skippers now, I should call them different names!” While I was busy trying to unthink this thought, this doll and her name both popped into my head. “Clara” is actually pretty close to my real name, so I thought, “right, if I must do this, I’m not going to call her that, it sounds a bit like crazy egotism”, so I googled a random name generator, figuring I’d pick something that way instead. The first name that came up was “Antoinette”, which I thought was a little too grand (although on reflection “Antonia” or “Toni” might have been OK). The second name to come up was “Leigh” and as I have fifty-ish Leas already, I gave that one a miss too. Third name was – well, guess. So Clara it is – the Great Collecting Fairy has spoken.

I made Clara’s sweater and skirt from a single baby sock, so technically I could do another the same, but I struggle with repeats. I’ll probably just leave it at this one.

IMG_4085.JPG

I also made some sweaters for my grown-up dolls:

IMG_4086.JPG

(In case you don’t recognise them, left to right my models are Cali Girl Lea, Speed Racer Trixie and SIS Chandra). I made these from a pair of gloves, using a similar method to the one I used to make this sweater.

IMG_4087.PNG

IMG_4090.JPG

IMG_4088.JPG

IMG_4089.JPG

Lastly, here is a sweater that I didn’t make:

IMG_4038.JPG

I really love this late Fashion Fever sweater, and I seem to use it in photos every year. This year, it’s gone to the beautiful Disney Store Classic Snow White. One of my New Year’s Resolutions is to buy more from this line, although I think that Snow White will always be my favourite.

Merry kind-of, almost Christmas, everyone πŸ™‚

14 Responses to “Christmas Sweaters”

  1. kewpie83 December 15, 2014 at 1:54 am #

    Clara’s sweater is SO CUTE!

  2. Taswegian1957 December 15, 2014 at 10:35 am #

    Clara was obviously meant to be. I really like your sweaters. I don’t have any interesting socks or gloves to sacrifice but I am hoping to knit some Christmas clothing for some of my girls. I’ll do them from scratch, there is another Test Match coming up:)

    • barbielea December 23, 2014 at 6:16 pm #

      I think so too Taswegian πŸ™‚ I’m rubbish at knitting so I’m very envious! Haha

  3. Night Owl December 15, 2014 at 1:45 pm #

    Great sweaters! Β£I love the first one and the pink ones :-).

    • jocey dyson December 15, 2014 at 10:30 pm #

      So pleased your back. Your/their sweaters look great, such a clever idea. By the way, no need to respond as I now appreciate how time consuming this must be…………….jocey

      • barbielea December 23, 2014 at 6:18 pm #

        That’s very thoughtful of you Jocey – but I’ll always try to reply, it’s only polite when you have taken the time to read or view. Thanks! πŸ™‚

    • barbielea December 23, 2014 at 6:19 pm #

      Thanks so much Night Owl!

  4. Teresa B. December 16, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

    Oh my gosh yes. Clara’s sweater is so so so adorable. You are so talented. I LOVE it! I have a couple of “Skippers” that need clothes. I’m going searching for cute baby socks.

    Hey, I have an excuse right???? πŸ˜‰

    • barbielea December 23, 2014 at 6:21 pm #

      You certainly do have an excuse haha … You also have an excuse to hang round the toy aisle for the next ten years or so, which is always nice πŸ™‚ and Thankyou! X

  5. discodiva1979 December 19, 2014 at 5:15 am #

    So genius-they really turned out lovely. Merry Christmas to you & yours!

    • barbielea December 23, 2014 at 6:21 pm #

      Thank you Discodiva, same back at you πŸ™‚

  6. Andrea December 19, 2014 at 9:08 am #

    All your swaeters look cute, but Clara’s is the cutest set. I wish I could find such cute socks. Thanks for the tip on gloves, it would have never occurred to me to try gloves.

    Clara is a great name for your cutie and her new body suits her well. Still drooling over her sweater, :>> .

    Merry Christmas to you and your family! Holiday Hugs

    • barbielea December 23, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

      Thankyou Andrea πŸ™‚ same to you! The great thing about gloves is that you can use the fingers for seamless sleeves, and if you get fingerless gloves you don’t have to hem them either! Hugs x

Leave a Reply

