Ghost of Christmas Presents 2014 Part One – A new Sindy

26 Dec

Hope you’re having a great Boxing Day. Here’s a strange thing – I recently gave away one of my Sindy dolls to an acquaintance who can’t get them in her country. Then at Christmas I received a new Sindy as a stocking filler! Here she is:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4200.jpg

She has the small, “sad” Hong Kong face that I prefer – something about her colouring and her haircut makes me think that she was a Sunshine Sindy from 1982, but really she could have been any one of a number of other waves. She didn’t need much work to get her right, I just:

* gave her a general clean-up
* boil washed her sticky-up hair
* trimmed off some frazzled ends
* applied some leave-in conditioner
* used tweezers to pull out her slightly pushed-in eyelashes, and reshaped them with scissors.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4236.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4202.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4199.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4201.jpg

About her outfit: the checked top is from a relatively common Sindy fashion set from the 80s (I have matching pants for it somewhere) and I think the boots are from a Horseriding Sindy. The skirt and waistcoat are unusual, though. I’ve never been able to find photos of it anywhere (although I wouldn’t say that I’m a Sindy expert particularly, and I know very little about pre-eighties Sindy). The label inside reads “PDG Hong Kong”, which I presume stands for Pedigree. I think this means that the outfit dates from the mid to late sixties – if you have any different or further information I’d love to hear it, please do leave a comment.

ADDITIONAL: thanks to a comment from Jill (see below), I’m now pretty sure that my mystery outfit is from a Maddie Mod set (the label actually reads “PGD”, not “PDG” – which, apparently, stands for “Princess Grace Doll”). I’ve even found a photo of what I believe to be the outfit on a very handy reference site which you can visit here (I think it’s 1746, Chocolate Chip, from 1968). Thanks so much Jill, I’d have never found this without your input!

7 Responses to “Ghost of Christmas Presents 2014 Part One – A new Sindy”

  1. Jill Sawyer Phypers December 27, 2014 at 1:35 am #

    Hi! I’m not remotely an expert, but the few early Sindy outfits I have are clearly marked Sindy. I wonder if it’s a Maddie Mod outfit. Apparently they were produced by Princess Grace Dolls (PGD) in the late sixties.

    • barbielea December 27, 2014 at 10:20 pm #

      Hello Jill, you were right! It was PGD, not PDG – must have read it wrong. I think I might have found the outfit now, thanks to your info. I’m so pleased, thankyou so much! πŸ™‚

      • Jill Sawyer Phypers December 28, 2014 at 12:32 am #

        Glad it helped and you’ve found the outfit! πŸ™‚

  2. Night Owl December 27, 2014 at 10:31 am #

    Hi! Merry Christmas! Your Sindy is lovely! Great outfit, I don’t know the skirt and coat, I hope somebody can identify it for you.

    • barbielea December 27, 2014 at 10:21 pm #

      Same to you Night Owl πŸ™‚ Thankyou, I think Jill’s got this one!

  3. Andrea December 28, 2014 at 11:01 pm #

    Sindy is a lovely Christmas present. I love the reluctant, pensive look you got from her in the third picture. Those Maddie Mod outfits must have a very good quality, the vest and the skirt look like new.

    • barbielea December 30, 2014 at 12:46 pm #

      They do, don’t they Andrea? I think I lucked out. The material is very hard and stiff, I’m amazed it isn’t cracked. I have another one of these outfits still to feature, when I get round to it … Thanks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

