Skating Without Snow Part Two – Two More Skaters

29 Dec

Hi πŸ™‚ I have two more skating dolls and a new photography app – what more could a doll photographer want?

First up is Hot Skatin Barbie from 1994. Hot Skatin Barbie was one of the dolls I picked up from a charity shop a few months back – she was fresh as a daisy in her whole original outfit (apart from the extra pair of roller skates she should have owned). She came with a rather oversize flower hairband, and after looking at pics of the boxed doll on the interwebz I’ve come to the conclusion that it wasn’t part of her original look, but I’ve kind of got used to it so I’ve left it.

I wasn’t sure about her at first, mostly because she has the flat-footed “gymnast” body which is really hard to re-dress, but I’m glad I got her now – her outfit is so cheery, and I love her eyes.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4383.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4381.jpg

My second Skating doll is a Hasbro Sindy:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4374.jpg

I got this little Skater from a car boot sale earlier in the year, and she was in a pretty bad way – coated with a kind of purple-pink paint which was on her face and in her hair. It left one or two faint marks on her face (I suppose I could try to remove these at some point with benzoyl peroxide) and although her hair is mostly clean now, it has taken on a pinkish sheen. I don’t really mind this – in fact I quite like it!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4376.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4377.jpg

Skating Sindy has a molded-on crown/ flower coronet and molded-on skate boots, but her outfit is removeable. Here’s the thing: I’ve had a hard time tracing her. There is a very similar Sindy who dates from 1996, also with the molded-on crown and boots, simply known as “Sindy Skater” – this doll came in blonde and brunette and there was also a pink-clad Paul to accompany them. However, her outfit was painted on and only her tutu was removeable. My doll could be a variant of this one, but I think more likely she’s from the year before or after, ’94 or ’96. I don’t think she’s a rare doll, as I’ve seen her before – it’s just strange that I can’t find an ID on her anywhere. Have you seen one? If so, please do leave a comment.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4386.jpg

ADDITIONAL: Well, Jill has done it again – turns out my Skater is Mega Fun Sindy by Vivid Imaginations, 1998. Many thanks Jill!

10 Responses to “Skating Without Snow Part Two – Two More Skaters”

  1. discodiva1979 December 30, 2014 at 12:35 am #

    WoW! What a difference between the two. I love the unitard on the Barbie & the fact you can remove her skates. Sindy turned out very pretty considering she was purple-I love her anime eyes. What a great duo!

    • barbielea December 30, 2014 at 12:40 pm #

      Hi Discodiva πŸ™‚ yes, I actually didn’t know you could remove these skates until I was messing with them and one fell apart in my hand :-/ they sort of unclip and the skating blade comes out … My Star Skater, Michelle Kwan, has the same boots in blue and I always presumed they were fixed on. I’ve now rebodied her, so I’ll have to steal the skates off her old body before I put it into storage …

      Yes, aren’t Sindy’s eyes cute? They’re my favourite thing about these Sindys ❀

  2. ThomasJ December 30, 2014 at 8:59 pm #

    Your photography is exceptional! The dolls are lovely, and I never knew how pretty Sindy is πŸ™‚

    • barbielea December 30, 2014 at 10:26 pm #

      As always, you are very kind Tom πŸ™‚ taking photos is hard for me in the winter because the light is so poor – I’m thinking of borrowing my partner’s fancy camera which will be better I think … Sindy is indeed very gorgeous, I love these dolls πŸ™‚

  3. Jill Sawyer Phypers December 30, 2014 at 10:01 pm #

    Hi. There is one of these on Ebay at the moment listed as a Vivid Imaginations Mega fun doll. Apparently the production went to Vivid Imaginations in the late 90s πŸ™‚

    • barbielea December 30, 2014 at 10:31 pm #

      Another ID to Jill – hooray! I just went back and checked my usual Sindy ID sites again and I didn’t miss it (I did check the Vivid dolls as well, just in case) – it really isn’t there! Many thanks again!! πŸ™‚

  4. Jill Sawyer Phypers December 30, 2014 at 11:02 pm #

    I love a mystery! πŸ™‚

  5. Andrea December 31, 2014 at 10:58 am #

    Sindy turned out very fine and she’s charming. I’ve got a similar nude Sindy with a flower crown, but mine is more of a hot pink color.

    Barbie is lovely too. I have her sister Winter Sports Barbie.

    • barbielea December 31, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ if your Sindy has proper feet without molded-on skates, I think she is probably a Fiji Sindy from 1995 – a very lovely doll! I’ve nearly bought her so many times but I keep hoping she will turn up cheap somewhere …

      • Andrea January 1, 2015 at 2:43 pm #

        Thanks for the ID! I googled for pictures of Fiji Sindy and yes, she is my girl. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

