Ghost of Christmas Presents 2014 – Part Four – I Love Fashion Wydowna

31 Dec

Hello and Happy New Years Eve! I got quite a few MH dolls for Christmas (because I am a lucky, spoiled doll collector) and I think I’m going to have to do a group post about the rest to save on time, but this one was my stand-out item. Turns out that she is every bit as interesting, beautifully designed and fabulous as you might expect:.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4497.jpg

GREAT things about Wydowna:

* I love the fact that they mainstreamed this character, giving us far-flung (eg non-US) collectors a chance of getting her without having to spend hundreds on the SDCC exclusive version.
* The extra arms. I was so busy geeking out about everything else do to with this doll, I never even thought about how much fun all the arms would be to pose for photos until I’d deboxed her. Pure, unadulterated dolly fabulousness.
* while we’re at it, the hands. Most of the hands are posed differently – we have devil-horns, pointing fingers etc. So fun
* She’s actually quite spooky. I think that most MHs are cute, and very few (Skeleton CAM and Nefara spring to mind) have any level of *shudder* value. Maybe it’s the black fangs or the plethora of limbs, but Wydowna is scarier than your average MH.
* Her clothes. The comic-strip, pop-art thing – wonderful. I love the fact that her long tops can all be worn as micro-dresses. There p isn’t one item of clothing in the pack that I don’t like, ditto the shoes and boots. I particularly love the cunning way that everything has been cut to fit around the extra arm joints in a manner that looks natural (natural for a MH anyway):

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4487.jpg

Enough, before I start foaming at the mouth here …
* The mostly earthy tones are great with her skin, and such a nice break from pink. These days, even Operetta is going pink (puce? Fuchsia? Looks pink to me) so Wydowna stands out even more.
* “SPLAT”?? “SPLAT!!” Hahaha!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4493.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4491.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4494.jpg

Not-so-great things about Wydowna (I only have two):

* I do like the simple style of her hair, but must we have a raw plastic band in it? Also, like my “I Love Fashion” Frankie, she looks rather thinly rooted to me and I can see a bit of scalp showing through when her hair is disrupted. Lastly, she had kinks in her ponytail from the box bands that held her in place, and I had to boil wash them out.
* These AMAZING shoes, which I ADORE (Spider-Man meets Venetian Courtesan!!) do not fit well on her feet and the heel is bent inwards towards the shoe 😦 …

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4490.jpg

As always, I need to mention that I don’t care much about these things, though. I am more than happy with Wydowna, who (if I was ever to make such a list) would surely be among my top ten Monster High dolls. Keep em coming just like this, Mattel …

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4468.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b84/23177785/files/2014/12/img_4488.jpg

9 Responses to “Ghost of Christmas Presents 2014 – Part Four – I Love Fashion Wydowna”

  1. Andrea January 1, 2015 at 2:55 pm #

    Wow, she is one monstrous bundle of awesomeness. The posing possibillities of the multiple arms are droolworthy and I love the fact, that they gave her different handmolds as well. She is definitely on my wishlist now.

    • barbielea January 3, 2015 at 5:06 pm #

      Isn’t she, Andrea?? 🙂 glad you like her too …

  2. Night Owl January 1, 2015 at 6:09 pm #

    Hppy New Year! I adore Wydowna, she’s one of the best MHs!

    • barbielea January 3, 2015 at 5:08 pm #

      Thankyou – and the same to you, Nightowl!

  3. Blackkitty January 1, 2015 at 9:22 pm #

    Have you tried boiling the bent shoes?
    Loved your pictures!

    • barbielea January 3, 2015 at 5:11 pm #

      Thankyou Blackitty – happy New Year!

      Will boiling them work??

      • Blackkitty January 3, 2015 at 8:22 pm #

        Happy New Year!
        It works for deformed hands and soft plastic accessories, just don’t let them touch the pot!

      • barbielea January 4, 2015 at 11:19 pm #

        Well, I’ll have a look into it … That’s great, I was really sad about these shoes. Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy World Doll Day!  | barbiebeauties - June 13, 2015

    […] two was a tough one – finally, I chose Wydowna to represent the Monsters in my […]

Leave a Reply

