Adventures in Rebodying 9 – Fallen Angel Stardoll

31 Jan

I’ve had quite a good year, rebodying-wise. The relative shortage of desirable new Barbies, plus the knock-down prices of end-of-line Fashionistas in the shops, has meant that I have been able to concentrate on getting new bodies for my collection. However, there has been one doll body that has always eluded me – the first-wave, ultra-pale Stardoll Fallen Angel.

I loved Fallen Angel from the first moment I saw her, and I was so happy when Mr Bat got her for me for a birthday. But I hadn’t done my research before we bought, so her stiff, unbending body came as a nasty surprise. I really dislike Stardoll bodies. They are designed to hold a particular pose, and they can’t be posed any other way – they don’t even bend at the hip.

I had to rebody her – the problem was, even the palest Fashionista was too pink. I tried Fallen Angel on a LIV. The colour match looked OK, but the shoulders were too broad for her tiny head and her legs looked stumpy. I wasn’t happy.

I thought of a few options (maybe a pale Disney Classic Princess or an Obitsu?) but before I got round to trying these, I started to become interested in the possibilities presented by knock-off Frozen dolls.

If you’re a doll collector, you will have noticed that the market has suddenly been flooded with cheap copies of the Elsa and Anna Classic dolls from Eastern Asia. Yes, this is naughty of them, but personally, I think that Disney played a role in this themselves by not making enough dolls to meet demand, as it had become more or less impossible to find them for anything like the RRP – of course it made sense (financially, although maybe not morally) for somebody to fill the hole in the market. Anyway, some of these clone dolls are pretty good, and some are laughably hideous. It’s not their clothes or their faces I was interested in, though. Some of them come with pivotal bodies, and they are pale.

I hesitated for a while. Mostly, this was because I know from reading the accounts of other doll collectors that a picture of a pivotal doll on a listing is not a guarantee that this is what you will receive when you are buying from Eastern Asia. I don’t think they’re particularly trying to rip people off, it’s probably just not on their radar – you asked for a doll and you got a doll, so what’s the problem? Eventually, though, I saw a listing from within the UK, for these dolls:

IMG_4929

(This is one of the seller’s pics as predictably, I forgot to take one of my own). I decided to go for it. I initially thought that Elsa would do for my Stardoll, and Anna would maybe work as a rebody for one of my many pale dolls who need one. I was a bit worried about the lilac tinge that Elsa had, though, and this turned out to be justified. However, it turned out that Anna was paler than I had thought. We had a match.

IMG_4928

IMG_4935

As you can see, this body has a torso joint and pivotal rather than hinged knees, so I presume it was modelled on a Barbie Style doll. It’s quite obvious it’s not Mattel-produced, though – it’s light and hollow-feeling and the plastic is rather soft. Some of the places where the body has been molded together are gapey, and the fingers are imperfectly stamped-out. For me, it’s passable, but I’ll probably have to do some work with a nail file and some superglue at some point. I also had a nasty moment when I removed Anna’s head:

IMG_4938

Should have seen that coming – of course, this is the cheapest kind of fixing and pretty common on clones. I decided to try it anyway, and miraculously, Fallen Angel’s head fitted it like it had been made for it. Stardoll neck openings are smaller than Barbie’s, so it wouldn’t have worked with a Barbie Head. I lucked out. Also, I quite like how it holds Fallen Angel’s head. She has no up-and-down or tilted head movement, but the torso joint means that this doesn’t leave her looking too stiff. I’m happy with the result, and the posing possibilities the new body provides.

IMG_4931

IMG_4930

IMG_4933

IMG_4932

IMG_4934

7 Responses to “Adventures in Rebodying 9 – Fallen Angel Stardoll”

  1. andersom February 2, 2015 at 1:39 am #

    Glad to see you found a matching body. I didn’t know some Frozen clones had articulation – that’s a lot better than most clones (and some non-clone dolls!). From what I’ve heard, Obitsu is supposed to match Fallen Angel, but there’s also the style of the body to take into account (and I agree that not all heads look good on a Liv body), so sometimes you might prefer a more elegant body even if it’s less articulated.

    Some day I’m planning to get the redhead Stardoll, maybe I should stock up on possible body donors right away… πŸ™‚

    • barbielea February 15, 2015 at 12:18 am #

      Hi Mrs Anderson πŸ™‚ yes, I’d heard about Obitsu and before I made this discovery I was planning on getting one, but I’m with you – they’re just not very elegant, which had made me hesitate for a long time. I think they tend to look better on dolls with big heads (like Pullip).

      I’m told that the redhead Stardoll is a little darker than Fallen Angel, although I don’t have her myself. You might just get away with a pale Fashionista if so. I do recommend taking a look on eBay for some if these clones, though! They are bound to come in useful for something πŸ™‚

  2. Andrea February 2, 2015 at 5:13 pm #

    Great skin match. I wouldn’t mind some pale clone bodies myself for rebodying/reheading. I think this smaller neck fixture is easier to fit to a head than those with the big globes, where you would need to cut the neckhole wider, to get the head on.

    • barbielea February 15, 2015 at 12:22 am #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ I find that those “globe” head fixing style bodies need heads with two ridges set relatively wide apart on the inside – one for the bottom of the globe, and one for the top. I’ve never had any luck getting them to fit “normal” doll heads, although I’ve tried (specifically with the Pivotal Steffie Loves, who I thought might provide me with a good supply of body donors before I found out about this issue). Maybe if you sawed the “globe” down? I’m not sure. Maybe I’ll try it sometime …

  3. Stephanie February 25, 2017 at 11:38 pm #

    Hello dear. Could you tell me which are the names of that Anna and Elsa dolls you bought? It’s because I found them on ebay. But Elsa has flat feet and I want one like yours that can wear high heels. Thank you very much, I hope you can help me.

    • barbielea February 28, 2017 at 7:52 pm #

      Hello Stephanie. I’m sorry, I would if I could! I don’t even think she came in a box. If you look for them on eBay they’ll probably still be around, if not then some discount shops carry them – in this country, anyway. Good luck, wish I could have been of more help.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in Rebodying – Chloe the Chinese Clone (or, how to convert a clone neck fitting for full head rotation)Β  | barbiebeauties - October 18, 2015

    […] Mattel-style neck fitting, just a simple knob which is common on clones. I saw a similar one on my Fallen Angel’s new body and it never occurred to me to try and change it (it has now, but I’ve hit a brick […]

Leave a Reply

