Getting Ghostly for Mother’s Day

16 Mar

Hi 🙂 this year, I’ve done quite well on the Monster front, giftwise. For Valentine’s Day, I got my already-featured Getting Ghostly Rochelle. Then for my birthday, I got the Ghostly Rochelle, Clawdeen and Twyla. To top it off, yesterday I received Porter Geiss for Mother’s Day … 



This is probably one of my favourite Monster High waves EVER. If you’ve ever read anything I’ve written about MH before, you might have noticed that I hate plastic “bits” – like chains, for instance. You know what? I’m so drooly over this wave that I DON’T EVEN CARE about the plastic chains. In fact, I like them – I think the silver looks better than the gold, but even so. 

The three girls are wonderful. I love the pearlescent, pale skin, the blade runner bands across the eyes (which seems to have become MH shorthand for “ghost”) and the cobweb-patterned dresses. I particularly like Draculaura’s gauzy “bat wings” and Clawdeen’s spooky yellow eyes. But my favourite is Twyla, whose face is perfectly painted. This look was made for her and I think I prefer her this way to the first-wave version. 





Porter wasn’t as immediately likeable as the girls, as far as I am concerned. Part of this was because of his poor-quality factory hairstyle. Fresh out of the box, I found that his shorter side had been left too long and then swept up in a Liberace-like pomp, so I trimmed it shorter, which improved matters. I also removed the paint bottles that he wears strapped to his chest. To me, these just made him look like he was getting ready to surrogate feed twin babies: 



So wrong. Anyway, I do love his clothes and his colour scheme, but I wish he’d been given long pants as I’m not keen on the shirt-shorts combination. It’s nice to have a new boy though, and I must admit that his ghostly green skin and hair looks fantastic in photos. 



Overall, what a great wave. I still have a few more I really have to get. What do you think? 

2 Responses to “Getting Ghostly for Mother’s Day”

  1. Andrea March 18, 2015 at 11:53 am #

    Hauntingly great pictures of your ghostly ghouls! I’m not a big fan of stiff plastic chains either, but I have to admit theirs look pretty good. Maybe because they indicate movement. Twyla looks much better than her first version. I’m totally drooling over Clawdeen and Draculaura.

    I’m glad you could fix Porter’s appearance.

    I don’t know why Mattel is so keen on shorts for the boys, probaly just to cut cost on fabric. Have you seen the EAH Date Night set of Raven and Dexter? Shorts on a date? What are they thinking?

    • barbielea March 21, 2015 at 4:19 pm #

      Hi Andrea 🙂 yes, the chains do suggest movement, I do think the MH designers are particularly good at stuff like that. That’s what makes them so great to photograph.

      I think you’re right about the shorts, it must be a cost saving measure. However, Neighthan got long trousers so I think Porter should have done as well – Grrr. I’ve seen that EAH two-pack, it’s not one I’m looking at getting. Shorts and a jacket!!!! So many reasons why this is a bad idea!

Leave a Reply

