Sindy Special 27 – White Wedding Sindy 

17 Apr

One of the (few) good things about being on a dolly diet is that it makes you reevaluate what you have. Sometimes I worry that If I don’t keep continually buying I will run out of new things to post about and play with, but really this is a ridiculous idea – a quick count has just shown me that I have at least fifteen unopened boxes on top of the doll drawers, plus I know I have some more stashed away on the bookshelves, plus I have two drawers full of project dolls. Some of these need major overhauls such as re-rooting or rebodying, whereas some only need a little spruce-up. When I opened a project drawer in search of entertainment today, this doll was lying right at the top of the pile:

She is a White Wedding Hasbro Sindy from 1987. She does not seem to be as well known as Romance and Roses, who was designed along similar lines in the same year, but I think she’s just as pretty – maybe prettier.

Of course, she didn’t look like this when I found her in the project drawer this morning:

All she needed was a hair sort-out. I conditioned and brushed it through and although it may look OK above, trust me when I say that it was actually super matted. Her rooting pattern suggested a high ponytail to me:

… Which I think worked out quite well. I was tempted to re-set her curls to crisp then up a bit, but in the end I decided she didn’t really need it. Next, she needed some clothes. I don’t really have many wedding-style dresses, but I found this long, ball-gown affair that I bought cheap from eBay. Ironically, although it was the one she suited best, it wasn’t white. Well, my White Wedding Sindy will just have to be an Ivory Bride …

  

By the way, I identified her by her distinctive string of pearls and her earrings, which are shaped like little doves. How cute is that?

4 Responses to “Sindy Special 27 – White Wedding Sindy ”

  1. amystika18n April 17, 2015 at 6:46 pm #

    She’s beautiful! After your work, I don’t think I can see her as a bride anymore-she’s so fresh she’s become a debutante!

    • barbielea April 18, 2015 at 8:45 am #

      Thanks so much Amy! She didn’t need much work really. Amazing to think that she’s two years off thirty, isn’t it? 🙂

  2. Andrea April 18, 2015 at 7:32 pm #

    amystika18m is right, she really looks like a debutante ready for the ball. Time has been very kind to her and your loving care worked very well.
    To me doll projects like this are much more satisfying, than just buying a new doll. Don’t get me wrong, I love a new doll from time to time, but a new doll is easily bought when the funds are available. But a doll you hav to work on a little forms sort of a bonding, she has a history.

    • barbielea April 18, 2015 at 8:36 pm #

      That’s very true, Andrea. Sorting a doll out feels like an achievement. I do love taking pictures of lovely new dolls, but after a while I do start to feel like there’s something missing from the experience … I really need to get back to some of my more “in-depth” projects!

Leave a Reply

