Tommy Gets Some New Mommies

18 Apr

(Yes, I’m from the UK so that should really read “Mummys” – but that doesn’t rhyme!) 

Last year, near the end of car boot season, Mr Bat brought me back this little Tommy doll: 

 

As you can see he actually came with shoes (so pleased! These are pretty hard to replace, there are hardly any gender neutral Shelley/ Kelly shoes out there) and I also got two outfits – good deal! Now, I know that these toddler dolls are pretty collectable in their own right, but they’re not really my thing usually. However, I liked Tommy. I like his little grey eyes and the way his eyelashes are suggested.  It’s a hard balance to find, making a little boy doll – he’s got to look cute without looking too much like a little girl. I think Tommy is just right in this respect. 

So, if you’ll pardon me for the whimsy, today I decided to run some “mother auditions” – after all, I have enough Barbies to sink a battleship, so I reckon Tommy can afford to be choosy (You can look at this as an excuse to photograph some of my dolls who haven’t had an airing in a while if you like 😉). 

So, without further ado – Mommy number one! 

  

  

Tommy’s verdict: “She’s very pretty, but she’s a bit scary too. She looks like she wants to go somewhere else. I’m not sure she really wants to be my Mommy! Maybe a two out of ten?” You might be right, Tommy – Solo in the Spotlight Repro was not designed for Motherhood. Moving swiftly on … 

Mommy number two! 

  

   

 

Tommy’s verdict: “I like this Mommy. She looks really friendly, and a little bit magic too. I’ll give her eight out of ten …” My 90s Bubble Fairy does look quite good with Tommy, doesn’t she? 

Mommy number three … 

   

 

Tommy’s verdict: “Weeeell, she seems nice, but she keeps staring at me all the time … It makes me nervous. I’ll give her a six out of ten.” Tommy obviously feels that Makeup Chic Theresa might be a little over-protective … 

Mommy number four: 

   

Tommy’s verdict: “She looks really fun and I like her hair. She gives me cuddles too. Eight out of ten!” Fashionista Summer (known in some circles as Tamara) has those hug-giving arms, always an advantage … 

Mommy number five: 

   

 

Tommy’s verdict: “I think her makeup is a bit crazy. But she looks kind. I’ll give her a six out of ten.” Ski Fun Midge obviously loses points for her off-the-wall fashion sense … 

This leaves us with Tamara and Bubble Fairy in joint first place … Who would you choose? 

 

10 Responses to “Tommy Gets Some New Mommies”

  1. Taswegian1957 April 18, 2015 at 2:02 pm #

    This was a fun post. I don’t usually collect Tommy and Kelly either but it is fun to pose them with mums and dads. I’ve done a few of those with my sister’s Tommy’s. I think I agree with Tommy that Bubble Fairy and Tamara are the nicest mums. I think I’d pick Bubble Fairy who looks a bit more mature while Tamara would be a great big sister or favourite baby sitter. The hugging arms are definitely a plus.

    • barbielea April 18, 2015 at 8:30 pm #

      Thanks Taswegian 🙂 it was fun to do! I think you’ve hit the nail on the head – Tamara would make a much better babysitter or cool big sis. Should have thought of that! Haha

  2. Andrea April 18, 2015 at 7:44 pm #

    I’m with Taswegian1957, Bubble Fairy looks like the nicest mum – cuddling arms were a great plus. Tamara looks more like an aunt or a babysitter.

    By the way, the outfit he is wearing in the first picture is from a 1999 Giggles n’ Swing Kelly.

    • barbielea April 18, 2015 at 8:32 pm #

      Thanks Andrea 🙂 oh yes, I meant to ask for outfit or doll ID advice for Tommy! As I don’t really have a clue with the little ones. Thanks for that – I think it suits him nicely, even if it should be his sister wearing it. 🙂

  3. Pam April 18, 2015 at 8:38 pm #

    1. Looks kind of psychotic
    2. My favourite
    3. The university student from next door drafted in to babysit
    4.Too-perfect yummy mummy aiming for the perfect child
    5. US exchange student not too fussed about babysitting
    I love the way they all have different personalities. And Tommy is very cute.

    • barbielea April 18, 2015 at 8:46 pm #

      Haha love it Pam! Yes, Solo in the Spotlight has a bit of a “Mommy Dearest” thing going on, doesn’t she 🙂 looks like Bubble Fairy is the popular choice! Thanks

  4. Chicovintage April 19, 2015 at 10:34 pm #

    Bubble Mum looks really nice and she matches Tommy perfectly. I love Summer though, she looks like a teen mum. Spotlight seems to be a little out of style when comparing to the toddler. I love the eccentric aunt vibe of Midge…

    • barbielea April 22, 2015 at 11:15 pm #

      Thankyou Chico. “Eccentric Aunt” haha I think you nailed it there!

  5. Teresa B. April 22, 2015 at 7:46 pm #

    Oh this is a fun post! Love it! I think you should rebody your Bubble Fairy on a Fashionista body so she can have the cuddle arms. 🙂 Either way I choose Bubble Fairy Barbie. 🙂 Yeah, Solo in the Spotlight doesn’t have the mommy face, haha. Tommy is SUCH a cutie pie! And major score for the shoes!

    • barbielea April 22, 2015 at 11:17 pm #

      Thankyou Teresa 🙂 Yes, I’ve been thinking about rebodying Bubble Fairy anyway, as she’s one of my favourite 90s dolls! I shall think about it. Yeah, Tommy’s shoes – still can’t get over the fact that he had them – BOTH of them!!

Leave a Reply

