Monster Exchange Draculaura 

25 Apr

So, the cherry trees are in full bloom right now and I woke up with the intention of photographing for and writing my annual cherry-blossom themed posts today. However, I then received a delivery and that was that – I got distracted. Maybe I’ll try again tomorrow … 

My delivery was one of my most-wanted Monster High dolls of the year. I’m so pleased with her: 

  
Monster Exchange Draculaura was on sale, so I snapped her up. I feel OK about having broken the doll ban – again – as I’ve sold some stuff recently so it kinds of balances out. 

There are so many wonderful elements to this doll, I don’t really know where to begin. Well, I suppose I particularly like her faceup. If I’m going to buy ANOTHER MH doll I really want it to look different to the others I have, and I think Monster Exchange Draculaura does. She has the most amazing straight pink brows, which I think give her a rather solemn facial expression. Her cheek heart is kind of angular to match her hair bow and the other fan-shaped motifs in her outfit. And she has geisha lips – a brighter pink stripe down the middle of the top and bottom lip. I was a bit nervous waiting for her because I’ve seen several of these dolls in the shops with wonky eyes, but mine is OK. 

   
 (By the way, seeing as I already have dolls lined up ready to get their pictures taken with cherry blossom, Draculaura is posing with the apple blossom instead). As you can see, her outfit is in two pieces, a fan-and-spiderweb patterned skirt and a pink and black wrap top fastened by a wide pink belt. She has some great accessories too: 

   
 

Everything is patterned, which conspires to give her a detailed, high-quality look. Like many doll collectors, I’ll admit to having a bit of a thing for Japanese-inspired design so maybe it’s unsurprising that I love her. Doll ban or not, I have no regrets 🙂 

 

    

 

2 Responses to “Monster Exchange Draculaura ”

  1. Andrea April 27, 2015 at 8:43 am #

    She is adorable, I love her hair and a two piece outfit is great for mixing and matching clothes. I would have broken the ban for her too. Her black and white portrait came out just great.

    • barbielea April 27, 2015 at 9:47 pm #

      Thanks Andrea, I like her so much I can’t even put her away yet! I love her hair too. Sadly, the tips of the hair that makes her bun do stick out by the side of her face which doesn’t look too good, think I’ll have to boil straighten it to get them to lie flat 😦

Leave a Reply

