Fan Bingbing 

9 May

As you may know, I am on a doll-buying ban right now. However, I still look at stuff for sale sometimes (I shouldn’t, but I do). I recently moaned to my partner about Fan Bingbing, who I had found for a wonderful price, and guess what he did? I’m really very lucky. 

  

I don’t often buy (or want) collector level these days – I’m not a huge fan of the Model Muse body, and in my country they’re usually completely overpriced. But Fan Bingbing has a brand new head sculpt, which has a Lea-ish kind of look I think. She’s Chinese, and of course I love Asian dolls. She has an amazing outfit modelled on a dress worn by the real-life actress during the Cannes film festival. She’s just … Wow. Who WOULDN’T want her? 

She seems to have proved very popular too, but certainly where I am, she’s had a price tag to match – I’ve seen her advertised for anything up to £175, although that was closer to her release date. I thought I’d just have to sit this one out. But then she came up for a good price due being in a slightly damaged box, and here we are. 

  
   
 

Things I particularly like about this doll: 

* the simplicity of the hairstyle and the makeup. It would have been so easy to over-egg the pudding, but I think she looks just right. 

* the dress, which has translated so beautifully into sixth-scale. I wish it wasn’t made out of that cheap by nylon stuff that always reminds me of tents and anoraks, but I understand that this makes it thin, lightweight, easy to print detail on and crease-resistant.

* blue nail varnish! 

* a stand that can be hidden under the dress, meaning you don’t have to lean the doll against something to photograph her or mess around devising props.

Things that annoy me: 

* The lip of the head is rather prominent where it meets the neck, meaning she needs to be photographed from certain angles to prevent her from looking very unreal and rather odd

* AGAIN, too much hair gel and on my model, some of the hairs have escaped so it looks a bit messy

* her shoes are very simple yellow platforms – I know they’re hidden by her dress, but I do think a bit more effort could have gone into them. 

Lastly, the head sculpt is beautiful so it’s not really an annoyance for me, but she doesn’t look much like the very beautiful actress she is based on: 

  
So, what do you think – do you like her? Do you want her? Have you got her? Let me know 🙂 

   
  

15 Responses to “Fan Bingbing ”

  1. Taswegian1957 May 10, 2015 at 1:06 am #

    She is very pretty and I can see why you wanted her. Is it a coincidence that as soon as you put yourself on a doll ban you start seeing dolls you just have to have? I’m about to go on one for the rest of the year but if one of those “must haves” come up I don’t know if I will be strong. 🙂

    • barbielea May 11, 2015 at 10:01 pm #

      Haha Taswegian – I find its best to start out with the motto “no dolls under ANY circumstances” and then accept it gracefully when you have the odd slip-up 😉 but this one doesn’t count, I would have stopped the other half if I had known what he was up to but he presented me with a fait accompli – completely not my fault!!

      I don’t know if it’s cooincidence or some kind of cruel trick, but I’ve noticed that too. Some of the bargains I’ve seen just recently – I can’t think about it, I get nauseous!!

      • Taswegian1957 May 11, 2015 at 11:48 pm #

        I quite agree, gift dolls don’t count. It’s only spending your own money that counts.

  2. Teresa B May 10, 2015 at 1:27 am #

    You are so lucky!! I want her. She’s gorgeous. Congrats on the great find!

    • barbielea May 11, 2015 at 10:02 pm #

      Thankyou Theresa. I’m so pleased with her, I never thought I’d get her!

  3. Jill Sawyer Phypers May 10, 2015 at 3:02 pm #

    She’s lovely. I’ve looked at her, but she’s beyond my budget too!

    • barbielea May 11, 2015 at 10:02 pm #

      Never say never Jill. Prices have been dropping a little, they might drop more yet …

  4. discodiva May 11, 2015 at 6:03 am #

    She is stunning-& I can see the Lea similarities, beautiful dress-I definitely want her

  5. Andrea May 12, 2015 at 9:53 pm #

    Congrats on getting her, Lea! Mr. Bat is just the best. I would go for temporary amnesia, if I would find her for a great price while being on a doll ban. She might not look much like the actress, but I think her face is beautiful in a melancholy way.

    • barbielea May 13, 2015 at 9:59 pm #

      Hi Andrea 🙂 yes, she does look a bit sad, doesn’t she? I do love this sculpt. I hope they use it again …

  6. Chicovintage May 13, 2015 at 5:28 am #

    Well ladies… I have news for you! She´s only 31 euros, shipment included, from Aliexpress http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Original-Genuine-Collection-category-Fan-Bingbing-Doll-BCP97-Celebrity-Doll-child-Toys-New-Year-Gift-Compatible/32299436464.html I´ve just ordered another, as I got my first one paying a kidney. Lots of people got her from here, the box is usually pretty battered but for this price I wont complaint, and it takes about a month or so to arrive

    • barbielea May 13, 2015 at 10:02 pm #

      Wow great tip Chico 🙂 thanks very much!! And it’s nice to have a recommendation from someone who has used this service – I’ve often wanted to order from AliExpress but as you can’t use PayPal, I’ve hesitated to do it … Btw I love that expression, “paying a kidney ” 🙂

  7. holeinyoursoul May 13, 2015 at 12:07 pm #

    She is truly beautiful. I think Mattel could use the “less is more” approach more often and come up with some stunning results. I hope to see this sculpt appear in other lines. And it is wonderful when a “grail” suddenly turns up in an unexpectedly affordable, reachable way.

    • barbielea May 13, 2015 at 10:04 pm #

      Yes, I agree. Sometimes these dolls work better when they are kept simple … And it is the best feeling when a bargain like this pops up 🙂

Leave a Reply

