Tressy (4th Edition) 

31 May

Hello 🙂 so, when I visited the V&A Museum of Childhood earlier in the year, I completely fell in love with a version of Tressy that I’d never seen before. 

 
Such a beautiful, mischievous face! I looked her up – in case you are interested and haven’t seen it before, I found a wealth of information at Tressydoll.com. This version dates from 1979 and it’s the fourth face that Tressy has had. I also quite like the second and third versions too, although the oldest version (which seems to be the most common, strangely) doesn’t appeal to me as much. 

I didn’t particularly set out to get one, but I started looking and I saw one going for a good price and, you know :-/ 

   
 

I was surprised to find that this version of Tressy is available at a much cheaper price than Sindy dolls from the same date. The second hand market for 2 Gens and even the later Sulkies has become quite insane recently, with common late 70s/ early 80s dolls often going up for sale for £20, £30 or even £40. It is still possible to get a bargain, but much harder than it used to be. Well, I suppose that Sindy was a more popular doll at the time and people are nostalgic for her, plus there’s a few reasons why she is more easily customisable than Tressy (soft head and no big hole in the scalp = easier to reroot). Just as well that I’m happy with the amount of Sulkies I have now (I’m not sure exactly how many? Maybe nine or ten?) and have no major plans to expand this arm of my collection until I make my fortune and can afford some of the earlier dolls, or unless I find a wonderful bargain. In the meantime, I might pick up a few more Tressys, if I get the chance. 

  

I particularly like my Tressy’s little monkey hands, hinged at the wrist and shaped in a “holding” position. She also has bending arms with no visible elbow joint, like a Licca doll. Her hair has a short underlayer and a variable-length over layer which comes from a large hole in her scalp from the middle front of her fringe. This overlayer can be made longer or shorter by turning a key in her back – I’ve tested it by doing one or two turns and it still works, but I won’t be messing with it much for fear of damaging her hair, which is already a little frazzled. I gave it a wash and condition, which has helped, and left the overlayer at the same length as the underlayer. I think she looks cute with a bob. 

I picked up her outfit with a job lot of vintage clothes (the clothes she was shipped in were not hers). I’ve no idea where they came from and they don’t have labels, so it’s entirely possible that they are Tressy clothes, I suppose. Shoes were a bit of a battle Her feet are a little too wide for Barbie shoes and a little too small for most Sindy shoes. I have found that Skipper shoes work pretty well, but her feet are a little high for them so they need to be picked with care. She’s currently wearing some of those Skipper platforms that look like geita – these usually look rubbish on everybody, but she can carry them off.

   
  

 

5 Responses to “Tressy (4th Edition) ”

  1. Taswegian1957 June 1, 2015 at 11:05 am #

    That is a pretty version of Tressy and so different from the original version that you might almost call her the “Anti Tressy”. I can understand your not liking the first one so much. She has sharper features. My sister always used to say that Tressy looked “mean” so when we played with our dolls together she was always the one out to spoil everyone’s fun who was usually bested by clever young Penny Brites, Patches and assorted friends and pets. I do appreciate the colouring of the original Tressy now but yours is prettier.

    • barbielea June 1, 2015 at 10:20 pm #

      Agree – I think the original Tressy does look a bit mean! I might come round to her sometime I suppose – if I’ve learned anything during the time I’ve been collecting, it’s that I’m actually prone to change my opinions at the drop of a hat. Fickle!! 🙂

      Your story about playing with your sister made me smile. How nice that you remember.

      • Taswegian1957 June 2, 2015 at 12:28 am #

        We played with our dolls together a lot once she was old enough to join in and we both enjoy reminiscing about our childhood.

  2. Andrea June 1, 2015 at 10:58 pm #

    Congratulations on scoring her! Haha, a good price is the perfect excuse to break a doll ban. She looks so sweet and a little curious, I think she must have appealed much more to kids than the first one. Thank you for the link to the Tressy page, I found a lot of my childhood Tressy fashions there.

    • barbielea June 3, 2015 at 10:05 pm #

      Thankyou Andrea 🙂 I spent some time browsing those fashion pages too, they were new to me but I recognised one or two things I’ve seen a few times on eBay listings. Great designs – I just love them.

Leave a Reply

