Barbie Style Raquelles

6 Jun

A few days ago, I bought this Raquelle: 

 
I love her outfit but wasn’t as sure about her face so I’d originally planned to use her for rebodying. However, maybe predictably, once she arrived I found that I just couldn’t do it. Actually, I think I like her better than my long-coveted first-wave Raquelle: 

  

 

First-wave Raquelle was (yet another) present from Mr Bat. I’d wanted her for ages but she’d proved impossible to find for a reasonable price. I love her style and the little details – the whistle necklace, the studded bodywarmer, the properly-scaled leopard-print scarf, the ornate ring-bracelet. Getting hold of her started to become a bit of an obsession with me, but I really wasn’t prepared to pay ridiculous reseller prices for her. Then, we came across her in a toyshop, on sale for her RRP, at the airport on the way home from holiday last year. I was delighted to receive her but I have to admit, she’s not perfect. For starters, she has the common fault with her eyes, which both point slightly outwards. Also, I am annoyed that her jeggings, which look so neat and tight-fitting in the promo pictures, are actually quite baggy. Lastly, her head is simply ENORMOUS. I’ve not done a side-by-side comparison, but I’m sure it’s bigger than the other dolls from this wave. It’s certainly bigger than the second style Raquelle’s. 

  
Second-wave Raquelle is paler in the face and her lips are redder than the first version. I’d still prefer it if she wasn’t grinning, but she’s pretty cute. Her outfit is wonderful – I like her collared shirt and the cracked-gold jacket particularly. 

   
 

   
 

So, that’s it. Nice doll, big fail on the rebodying front … I’m not sure I’ll be bothering with too many more dolls from this line unless we get some more interesting sculpts, and since it seems that at least some of the upcoming Style dolls only have articulated arms, not legs, I’m not even sure how many I will be buying for rebodying purposes. Pivotal bodies, whereforeart thou?? 

8 Responses to “Barbie Style Raquelles”

  1. Taswegian1957 June 7, 2015 at 2:04 am #

    The Raquelles kind of grow on you don’t they? I haven’t seen either of these in Hobart. My Raquelle came in a rather tacky gold dress which initially put me off her but I’ve used her quite a bit now in doll posts and have become quite fond of her. I still find the knee joints of the articulated dolls rather ugly and they feel fragile in the hand to me. I doubt the play dolls will survive 50 years like their vintage sisters. However I totally agree the articulated are more fun to dress and pose and the new semi articulated and non articulated play dolls look and feel even cheaper. I probably wouldn’t buy them. As for the trend for plastic clothing don’t even get me started. I saw that Action Hero Barbie or whatever she was recently. Ugliest Barbie I have ever seen.

    • barbielea June 7, 2015 at 2:28 pm #

      Yes they do grow on you Taswegian! Then again, most dolls tend to :-/ (if you’re me, that is)

      Doubtless you are right about the longevity of the Fashionistas – hopefully mine will last, though. I just really want to get on with my rebodying and Mattel seem determined to make it impossible! When the Fashionistas went, I thought “well, at least we still have Barbie Style” and now all the new releases have these awful semi-articulated bodies. Depressing 😦

      Agree about plastic clothes. Awful …

  2. Sarah Plays Dolls June 7, 2015 at 3:17 am #

    The exact same thing happened with me and Raquelle. I bought one on sale with the intent to re-body her, but once I de-boxed her, I didn’t have the heart to do it!

    I have also been… hoarding the Barbie Style Midge doll. I have three. I have plans to buy another one in the future and make her a blonde. I’ve already turned one into a brunette.

    • barbielea June 7, 2015 at 2:30 pm #

      Three Midges Sarah! Very interested to see what you’ll do with her. Your reroots are wonderful 🙂

  3. Blackkitty June 7, 2015 at 9:36 am #

    I was actually delighted to see that first Raquelle wears proper jeans instead of leggings. I love them! Mine has a horrible wonky eye (it’s on the temple, along with the eyelashes), but I hope to fix that eventually. I like her soft head and hair that has no glue at all. I picked her for the outfit and hair colour. I haven’t seen the second one in stores but she doesn’t excite me too much.

    • barbielea June 7, 2015 at 2:36 pm #

      I’ve actually warmed to the jeans now Blackkitty – I just really didn’t expect them to look like that from the box photos. Yes, I’m really pleased that there is no head glue or excess of styling product too 🙂 I’d like to think this will last throughout the line, but probably not … I felt the same way about wave 2 – meh. But now I’ve got her, I do quite like her

  4. Andrea June 8, 2015 at 9:58 am #

    I had that same rebodying failure with every Raquelle I bought so far. 😀 The hunt for the first Raquelle almost drove me crazy. Finally a dear friend sent me one. The second was much easier to find. Their clothes were the best in ages, if only Mattel hadn’t cheaped out by sewing tights to shorts. I mean, where is the advertised play value of mixing and matching in that.

    The Fashionista bodies are more durable than I thought. I do a lot of fashionista hunting on fleamarkets for rebodying purposes. The bodies are mostly in great condition, except for the occasional swingy limbed ones. It’s the heads of a lot of them that are only usable for a reroot, due to the darned yucky glue inside.

    The partially posable bodies are a pain. I have been collecting some of these with either posable legs or arms. May be, I can figure out a way to switch the stiff joints on these for the posable ones. :crazy:

    • barbielea June 27, 2015 at 9:23 pm #

      Hi Andrea 🙂 sorry for the late reply I thought I’d answered you already! Firstly – my Raquelle’s tights are not tights at all but stockings. They aren’t attached to her shorts, though, they are separate. How strange that yours is different!

      Second – good to hear about the durability of Fashionistas. Now I come to think about it, I haven’t seen many broken ones for sale anywhere either …

      Third – somebody told me how to switch legs on a modern Barbie recently! I don’t know about arms, though. If and when it comes up, I’ll write a post about it.

Leave a Reply

