Paper Dresses 3 – Lagoona’s Summer of Love 

7 Jun

As usual, I had a completely different posting idea when I got out of bed this morning. Then, my boy wanted to cut up one of his Dad’s music newspapers to make paper monsters and  while I was doing that, I thought, “hmmm”. We are getting into festival season now and there were a few ads that were on the psychedelic side. As I’d just straightened Picture Day Lagoona’s crazy bushy hair, she was my lab rat for this experiment. 

Please note: if you want to make dresses out of newspaper too, remember that your doll is at risk of staining. Lagoona came to me on extreme sale and while I’d rather not ruin her, I wouldn’t have lost a load of money if she did get marked. My newspaper dresses only stay on while I take photos, then they’re straight off again (they have to be cut off so they’re one use only). I keep a paper towel with washing up liquid on it and a clean cloth handy so I can remove any marks from newspaper print straight away. And (although I don’t know if this would prevent staining in the long-term – probably not) I wrap the doll in clingfilm underneath her paper clothes before I start: 

  
That said, here are the dresses:

   
               

They were a bit fiddly, but loads of fun to do 🙂 hope you like them! 

7 Responses to “Paper Dresses 3 – Lagoona’s Summer of Love ”

  1. kewpie83 June 7, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

    Love it!

  2. Andrea June 8, 2015 at 10:06 am #

    I love the psychodelic prints, so mod. I’ts actually a pity, they are one use only. They all look great, but the third one is my favorite.

    • barbielea June 8, 2015 at 1:46 pm #

      Thanks Andrea 🙂 yes, cutting off the mushroom dress in particular was hard! If only I could make reusable fabric dresses this easily *sigh*

  3. discodiva June 8, 2015 at 3:44 pm #

    Very clever-pity it was not fabric as they all look so fab

  4. Blackkitty June 12, 2015 at 9:32 pm #

    Hi! You received the World Doll Day tag!
    It works like this:
    1. List 3 favourite dolls from last year
    2. List 3 wish list dolls
    3. Tag 5 people
    My version and pictures at: http://multicrafteral.blogspot.com/2015/06/world-doll-day-2015-tag.html
    I hope you join (^^)~

    Such a pity that is not fabric. Those prints are absolutely tripping. The peace sign and the ‘shrooms certainly fit into the same theme 🙂

    • barbielea June 13, 2015 at 7:15 pm #

      Thankyou 🙂 my post is on its way!

Leave a Reply

