Disney Animator’s Merida

14 Jun

So, just a quick one tonight – I wasn’t planning on posting after yesterday’s marathon effort, but I spent a lot of today doing this doll up, I’m feeling enthusiastic about her and I thought “why not?” 

Today, I went to the car boot sale and I came back with these items: 

 
(Not including the ginger cat, of course). Ariel is pretty cute, the tiny dolls are intriguing (if anybody has ID ideas for these, please do let me know, by the way), and I always wanted a Monchichi. But the star of the show was the Disney Animator’s Merida, who I picked up for £1.50 with a “Brave” Annual thrown in. 

Of course, for this money she wasn’t perfect. She should look like this: 

  


Good news: she had her dress, and other than a bit of dirt which washed off easily enough, there were no marks or stains. Bad news: she was missing her stockings and shoes, and then there was her hair. 

Her hair was AWFUL. I honestly don’t think I’ve ever seen hair that bad. It didn’t help that these dolls have enormous heads with loads of thick hair, and that it started out curly, but it didn’t end there. Her previous owner must have played with her a bit, decided to give her some tiny plaits, then decided to plait some of the plaits together, then played with her a LOT more. Without ever brushing her hair. The result was basically dreadlocks. It took me well over an hour of conditioning (fabric softener to start with, then human conditioner as well to loosen the tangles) and brushing (I found that a human paddle brush and fingers worked best, doll brushes were useless) to be able to get it right. I nearly gave up a couple of times. 

   
  

 

As you can see, she did lose quite a lot of hair through this process, and it also knocked the curls out. I wondered if she would end up a bit bald, but thought that if I re-curled it, this might hide any thin patches.

Ha. As her hair dried, the curls started to return. They started to appear at the bottom, and they got bigger, and bigger, and bigger …

   
       

I think I actually like her hair this way more than the way it looks on the promo pics. I love her! I love her asymmetric freckles and her jug ears. She’s adorable. 

Merida is not my only Animator’s doll. I actually picked up another of these dolls second-hand a while ago, but so far she has been without clothes. I’m wondering if I can use Merida’s to make a pattern. 

4 Responses to “Disney Animator’s Merida”

  1. Bambuc June 16, 2015 at 9:17 pm #

    Lucky finds! I like this Merida.

    • barbielea June 26, 2015 at 9:24 pm #

      Thankyou Bambuc! I was pleased with them 🙂

  2. Cogaroo June 25, 2015 at 10:58 pm #

    That Merida was a great find – you did a wonderful job fixing her up!

Leave a Reply

