Adventures in Rebodying 15 – Stephanie and Dahna 

28 Jun

Yep. I started renaming the Barbies. Where will it all end?? Haha. 

Anyway, I recently lucked out at a car boot sale where I found two Fashionistas for £1.50 each. This is pretty much unheard-of around here. Rebodying bonus! 

The first body, an AA skin type, went to my “Seven Days of Style” Kayla (Dahna). The second one was a more tricky choice, but I finally narrowed it down to two candidates then picked one at random. The winner was Stephanie, my 1999 DOTW Spain (she used to be dressed as a matador). 

Anyway, I have got to a point where I am getting bored of my stash of doll’s clothes – I’ve photographed nearly everything at least once. As I haven’t done any sewing for a while, I thought I’d give the “trying to follow a pattern” business another try. I’ve never done very well at this. I settled on this dress: 

  
Of course, these patterns were designed for the older body type so they are roomier through the bodice. I adjusted one of them for the new body type (Stephanie’s dress), but I left the other one (and, er, I think I sewed it together wrong too) so it’s a looser fit. I don’t mind this – I added some gathers and made a PVC belt, which gives it a nice modern look, I think. 

   
         

Of the two, Stephanie’s was the harder. I made it from an old polycotton shirt, which shows up the stitches a lot more than the teeshirt fabric that Dahna’s dress is made from, and of course it doesn’t help that it’s plain, so I tried very hard to watch my stitch evenness and size. I think I did pretty well – my stitching ability has definitely improved, compared to my early attempts. I also didn’t like the way the bodice darts looked on this plain fabric, so I added a lace overlay. I think this actually worked out quite well. 

As you can see from the first picture, I’ve cut pieces for three more dresses. However, I’m now in a bit of a conundrum. I’ve just had a new set of patterns delivered (for Skippers!) and I’d like to try them out. On the one hand, I hate not finishing things, but if I press on with these, I know I’m going to risk getting bored … Decisions decisions 🙂 

10 Responses to “Adventures in Rebodying 15 – Stephanie and Dahna ”

  1. Teresa B June 28, 2015 at 5:44 pm #

    I love them! Especially the Spain DOTW. Just beautiful! I can’t wait till I can get my sewing machine out again. I have some fabulous new doll patterns that I’m dying to try!

    • barbielea June 29, 2015 at 10:52 am #

      Thankyou Theresa! I’m so glad I chose Spain for the rebody, she has really grown on me recently. Oh yes, you sew, don’t you? You know , I used to really envy you machine sewers but recently I’ve realised that although it takes me ages to make anything, I’ve come to really enjoy the process of hand sewing. Snap with the patterns. I need to cut some pieces for my Skippers (these clothes for the Makies too, which could be fun).

      • Teresa B July 4, 2015 at 2:39 am #

        Skipper clothes would be fun to make! I do most of the sewing with machine but sometimes it’s much easier to see the hem by hand. Teeny tiny little stitches!

  2. Lovely Strife June 29, 2015 at 1:40 am #

    Beautiful dress! I may have to find some Barbie sized patterns. I didn’t realize they made them. I’ve only ever seen American Girl sized doll clothes patterns.

    • barbielea June 29, 2015 at 11:02 am #

      Thankyou Lovely Strife. Yes, there are quite a lot of Barbie patterns, most of the big pattern manufacturers have released a few. I gather that the patterns can be quite collectable in their own right. I have a few, but I’ve not made much from them yet, which I’m trying to do something about. It’s fun. However, it’s worth bearing in mind that all the ones I’ve seen are designed for the old-style Barbie bodies, so you need to make adjustments if you want to see for newer dolls.

  3. Taswegian1957 June 29, 2015 at 2:26 am #

    The dresses look great. Stitch size is tough for me too. I find tiny stitching tedious. I do sometimes use the sewing machine but the really fiddly things are better done by hand I think. I have a lot of Barbie patterns but I have stuck to the simple ones so far.

    • barbielea June 29, 2015 at 11:06 am #

      Thanks Taswegian 🙂 I think you’re right, darts for instance must be tricky to do on the machine as it’s much harder to check the fit as you’re going along. I used to LOATHE trying to do small and even stitches (as you can probably tell from a lot of the early clothes that I made). But I’ve got used to it now – I find it restful and meditative, when I’m in the right mood – helps me clear my mind.

      • Taswegian1957 June 30, 2015 at 12:01 am #

        That’s what knitting does for me.

  4. Andrea July 2, 2015 at 11:41 pm #

    Congrats on finding the Fashionista bodies! Both dresses turned out great. I love the loose bodice on Dahna’s dress. DOW Spain looks so lovely in her new dress, the lace overlay is a great idea.

    • barbielea July 5, 2015 at 2:54 pm #

      Thanks so much Andrea 🙂 I’m working on a few more of the same style right now …

Leave a Reply

