Lea 41 – The Look City Shine

5 Jul

So, for a while now I’ve been whinging on various social media sites about how unlikely I am to ever get hold of the new Black Label Lea, and then *bang*! Found her for an excellent price, snapped her up. Hooray! I don’t do as much collector-level shopping now as I used to, because 1). Over time, I’ve become more interested in articulated (as opposed to model muse) dolls, which I prefer because they can be put in a wider variety of poses for photos, 2). I usually have to import them, which is costly, which I resent and 3). I’ve come to realise that playline is really my thing – there are some exceptionally beautiful playline dolls out there, I don’t NEED to get my kicks from collector-level. But, I have to make an exception for Lea, and The Look City Shine is interesting for various reasons: 

* The short hair! There are very few short-haired Leas around, which is a shame because it’s a great look on her. Her hair is pretty clogged up with gel but this is de rigeur with short-haired dolls – the price you pay. I’ll clean it up later.

* The enormous eyes! Honestly, this doll has eyes like an owl. I suppose you might like that, or hate it. I like it. 

* The eyelashes. Yes, like last year’s “The Look” Lea, this doll has rooted eyelashes. 

* She’s not alone in this (Collector-level Leas have been rocking this look for years) but she’s got that Asian Gothic thing going on that I’m such a huge fan of – the pallor, the red lips, the heavy eye makeup. 

* Black nail varnish. This wave really reminds me of the Barbie Basics metallics girls (if only she was a pivotal, like they were). 

  
And of course, she has an interesting outfit too. I’m sort of conflicted about the earrings (I don’t tend to like earrings on dolls, I suppose because they put me in mind of the monstrosities that Barbies used to wear in the 80s and 90s) but I have to admit that they’re well executed and unique. Her bangle and clutch (with a string on it so she can actually hold it, hallelujah!) are nice touches, simple, unassuming and realistic. And the SHOES: 

  
As you can see, she is wearing very tight pants with a slight shine to them, these are actually stretchy which I didn’t expect. Her “City Shine” top is a great colour, and I like the unusual style. Not so sure about the missing patches of shine. I had to ask around to see if they were meant to be there and apparently they are. But unfortunately my version has a large spot where the shine is missing at the waist, which is kind of eye-catching – not in a good way, in a kind of “what’s that weird patch on her top?” way. Well, never mind. 

Anyway, here she is deboxed: 

   
   
Lovely. Now I need to track down second-wave Tris and the new Barbie Style Lea, and I’ll be a happy bunny for the rest of 2015 … 

   
    
 

8 Responses to “Lea 41 – The Look City Shine”

  1. Chicovintage July 5, 2015 at 8:13 pm #

    She´s so pretty! I find absolutely irresistible that 1920 vibe, on those gorgeous B/W pics you can almost see her on an old movie as Theda Bara ! LOL, This wave has been trashed by the collectors, as the girls has nothing to do with the prototypes (as if…) but I love them, I think they are doing an effort to revamp this low profile collector line . I must get her and Pazette, but I´m getting so behind too… .

    • barbielea July 6, 2015 at 7:35 pm #

      Hi! Aww, is this line getting trashed?? I actually like it! My online friends tend to like it too. But if there are collectors who aren’t buying, I suppose that might be why this one was relatively easy to source for a good price.

      I never even thought about the 1920s vibe, but now you’ve said it I can totally see it. That makes me like her even more!

  2. Andrea July 5, 2015 at 9:19 pm #

    She is beautiful and I like her huge eyes as well. I’m not sure about the earrings, looks like she could stab herself with them. Chicovintage is right, I can so imagine her in Flapper attire.

    • barbielea July 6, 2015 at 7:37 pm #

      Hi Andrea 🙂 gosh, never thought of that about the earrings either. You’re right, they’re potentially lethal! I was right not to trust them …

  3. Teresa B July 6, 2015 at 4:24 am #

    I love her edgy look. She is a beautiful Doll. And way awesome shoes! Would like to see the non gelled hair look!

    • barbielea July 6, 2015 at 7:38 pm #

      Hi Teresa:) I didn’t brush her hair out before I took the pics in case it completely messed it up, but I’ll try to remember to post some “after” pics sometime.

  4. Sandra July 6, 2015 at 10:22 pm #

    Wow, yours has such a pretty expression. I’ve been stalling on ordering this doll because the pics I’ve seen have been um, less than stellar. Either you got a great one or your photo skills are amazing because she looks so beautiful! I think it’s a combo of both. Well done!!

    • barbielea July 8, 2015 at 4:14 pm #

      Hi Sandra 🙂 When I got her, I’d not seen many other pics apart from the promo pics (which are obviously going to look OK) – I just had a look on Google, though, and I did see some slightly wonky-eyed ones. Hooray for getting lucky! It’s always a risk with big-eyed dolls, I suppose. About my pics – thanks! A few days ago I had a look through my old Lea posts, my photography/ editing skills have definitely improved over time haha. I’m so pleased you liked these 🙂

Leave a Reply

