Skipper 26 – Hetty

11 Jul

Here’s a re-rooting project that I meant to share ages ago – a Babysitter Skipper I had who was in bad shape. She had a broken neck (like so many 1987 sculpt dolls do – I’m still convinced there this was caused by a weakness in the design and/ or manufacture of these dolls). Also, it turned out that her hair was also beyond rescue, as the nylon had gone fragile and frazzled, with loads of breaks: 

   
 
(Sorry about the slightly blurry pics). I briefly flirted with the idea of putting her onto a teen-size ballet body I had (from one of the Dancing Princess twins) but the neck was not a good match and her head was just too floppy. Fortunately, she turned out to be an excellent colour match for Juls, the easiest of the Simba Super Models to source. Juls is a pretty pale doll, so most Skippers don’t work out with this body. I was delighted to find out that Babysitter Skipper could go pivotal. 

Next, the hair – I originally planned to use two colours – either pink and black, or pink and blonde, but in the end I thought it might look a bit over the top so I stuck to one. Here’s some pictures taken during the re-root: 

   
    
 
I did most of it during a long train journey, it was a relatively quick project once I’d got started. As you can see, I had to put a parting in which I’ve always found a bit nerve-racking in the past, but this one went quite smoothly. Anyway, around here Skippers tend to get named, especially if they’re pivotal, so re-rooted Babysitter Skipper is now known as Hetty. Here she is finished: 

   
    
 
I must say that I’m really pleased with how she worked out. What do you think? 

12 Responses to “Skipper 26 – Hetty”

  1. Kewpie83 July 11, 2015 at 9:36 pm #

    I love it! She’s super cute and the body works really well on her. It’s interesting to see how you re-root. Its the complete opposite way of what I do. I save rooting her part till the very end. Good work!

    • barbielea July 11, 2015 at 10:06 pm #

      Thanks Kewpie I’m glad you like her! I do the part first because that’s the bit I always dread. Once it’s over, the rest is straightforward. I also like doing it this way because it’s easy to see if there’s scalp visible through the top layer of hair which needs to be covered …

  2. Teresa B July 11, 2015 at 11:48 pm #

    So in love with dolls that have pink hair. She is stunning, you did an awesome job! I’ve been wanting to try rerooting but haven’t gotten around to it. How do you get the old hair out?

    • discodiva July 12, 2015 at 2:46 am #

      She looks better than the original hair-do! You did a fabulous job, this inspires me to want to give it a try.

      • barbielea July 12, 2015 at 5:42 pm #

        Thanks Discodiva. You should try it, it’s fun! And it’s a great way to freshen up an old doll.

    • barbielea July 12, 2015 at 5:41 pm #

      Thanks so much Teresa! First of all I cut the old hair off as short as I can, then I take the head off the neck and use either a craft knife or a thin pair of scissors to loosen the rows of sewn-in hair from the inside. I just snip a few rows to help them start to unravel. Then I pull the stubble out with a pair of tweezers. It doesn’t take too long.

  3. Sarah Sequins July 12, 2015 at 8:45 pm #

    She’s gorgeous!!! I love that pink hair, and the new articulated body is perfect for her. I’ve always loved the Skipper face.

    • barbielea July 12, 2015 at 11:23 pm #

      Thankyou Sarah! She has been a very satisfying makeover to do. I love this sculpt too – it’s one of my favourites.

  4. Blackkitty July 13, 2015 at 6:40 am #

    Very cute! Pink hair looks good with her face.

    • barbielea July 24, 2015 at 4:26 pm #

      Thanks Blackitty! Yes, I’m glad I didn’t go for two colours now, it would have looked wrong …

  5. Andrea July 24, 2015 at 11:50 am #

    Great makeover! I’m a sucker for candy haircolors. Pink suits her very well and I think your doll looks better than the original now. Super cute.

    • barbielea July 24, 2015 at 4:26 pm #

      Thanks Andrea! It was fun. I have so many re-roots still to do, but at least I’m getting through them now!

Leave a Reply

