Post in the Bag – Happy D 

12 Jul

I know that a lot of bloggers like to have “a post in the bag” eg. Something they have prepared a while ago that they can publish quickly when they’re short on time. I struggle with this – I write 99% of my posts on the same day, and it has to be something I’m feeling particularly enthusiastic about too. I tried doing it the other way with Happy D, the subject of my resident post in the bag. I say “resident” because I took the pictures and did the reading for it nearly a year ago, and these have sat in my camera roll and my notepad ever since. I just can’t do things this way and I haven’t tried since. However, she was a great find and she deserves a post, so it’s way past time I got my act together. 

I found Happy D at a Car Boot Sale last summer. Here she is: 

  
(The bike is a Moxie Girlz item that I picked up at about the same time). For anybody who is unfamiliar with this hip-hop inspired line, which had a brief run in the 2000s, I wrote a little bit about it here. Flavas have become really quite collectable, but personally there are some I like more than others. Happy D is one of the ones I do like. I always thought that she was meant to be the “Barbie” of the line, as she looks similar to Mackie faced dolls to me. Here she is with the first Mackie sculpt I could find in the doll drawers, my Indian Barbie: 

  
She is maybe a little bit more cartoony with a softer jawline and fuller lips, but I think there’s a similarity there. Of course, its not the same sculpt – Mackie is stamped 1991 and Happy D (who has a unique sculpt, like the other Flavas dolls) is stamped 2003. 

   
 
When I started to look into exactly which Happy D my doll was, I found out something interesting (or annoying, depending on how you look at it). This is a Party Style Happy D, and the trousers she is wearing were not the ones that she wore in the box but they did come with her as a spare outfit. Her top, necklace and boots actually came with another Happy D, Denim and Diamonds, begging the question – was Denim and Diamonds also on the table at the Car Boot Sale, but sold before I got there?? Yep, annoying. 

Anyhoo, another way in which Happy D is interesting is because of her tiny, articulated body. She’s not much taller than a modern Skipper, as you can see here: 

  
I love the way that these dolls vary in size. Here she is with my Tre, who was one of the tallest Flavas dolls: 

  
I think they look great together! Anyway, for anybody who wants to know a bit more about Flavas, I found a great resource for identification and collection planning while I was researching Happy D, link here. Wishing you happy Happy hunting … 

6 Responses to “Post in the Bag – Happy D ”

  1. Taswegian1957 July 13, 2015 at 2:10 pm #

    She is quite an interesting doll. I remember the Flavas. Am I wrong or did they make them different heights on purpose to be more realistic? After all we are not all exactly the same height.

    • barbielea July 21, 2015 at 7:30 pm #

      Hi Taswegian 🙂 yes, they did make them different heights on purpose. I think it’s a great idea, they should do it with more dolls!

  2. Andrea July 24, 2015 at 12:49 pm #

    Great find! Happy D. is the prettiest of the Flavas girls to me. Thanks for the ID-link. I remember seeing the Flavas in the stores, but at that time I strangely wasn’t very interested in them. Years later I found this Happy D. at a fleamarket and was hooked. The diversity in height makes them even more interesting, but one thing I did not like about them is the slightly twisted body of some of the dolls.

    • barbielea July 24, 2015 at 4:29 pm #

      Hi Andrea! Personally, my favourite Flavas girl is Kiyomi, she looks so regal – she kind of reminds me of the contemporary Fashionista Goddess who everybody is raving about. But yes, Happy D has a wonderful face, and I love the height difference too. Could the twisty bodies you have found be due to a problem with a malfunctioning torso joint?

  3. Andrea July 26, 2015 at 12:01 am #

    No, the joints are ok, it’s more like her waist and hip is slightly bent to one side. The chest joint is fine.

    • barbielea July 26, 2015 at 4:16 pm #

      Ah, I’ve not seen this! Strange …

Leave a Reply

