Beside the Seaside … 

19 Jul

I’m on holiday again, and one of the things I particularly like to do on holiday is (surprise surprise) take photos of dolls. Here’s some pictures I took today, and a couple from last night. 

   
    
    
    
   
Hope you like them. Ianthe (Violet Glam Hair) and Caliope (Cali Girl Lea) wear dresses that I made last week. Hetty (pink-haired Skipper) hasn’t got anything new yet – I need to get round to it … 

16 Responses to “Beside the Seaside … ”

  1. Pam July 19, 2015 at 8:27 pm #

    As always, your photographs are awesome! I especially like Ianthe’s dress and the way her hair is blowing in the wind.

    • barbielea July 19, 2015 at 9:50 pm #

      Thanks so much Pam! She’s a great doll to photograph. The dress was really quick to do, I made it from an elasticated child’s top I picked up from a bargain bin.

  2. Sarah Sequins July 20, 2015 at 4:32 am #

    Fantastic photos! My favorite is the one of Ianthe and her camera. She looks like she can’t wait to take photos of her own!

    • barbielea July 21, 2015 at 7:14 pm #

      Thanks Sarah! I borrowed the camera from a Pinkie Cooper doll. Good, isn’t it?? 🙂

  3. Blackkitty July 20, 2015 at 5:56 am #

    I adore that purple hair. Did the body come with tattoos or did you apply them? I would get her if she had at least click knees. But I already have two wooden Barbies and I don’t know where to get new bodies for them.

    • barbielea July 21, 2015 at 7:19 pm #

      Hi Blackkitty. Yes, I applied the tattoos myself, they are those temporary ones. Then I sealed them with my usual sealant to stop them scratching off. It’s really fun! I’ve got lots of dolls I need to tattoo when I’ve got time. Agree, the very stiff bodies are a pain. I’m really glad I Rebodied her, she’s such a great-looking doll.

  4. mangusta July 20, 2015 at 10:24 am #

    Purple-haired is georgeous!

  5. amystika18n July 20, 2015 at 5:33 pm #

    I love Caliope’s outfit. The boots look so cute with that striped dress!

    • barbielea July 21, 2015 at 7:22 pm #

      Thanks Amy! I was quite pleased with this one myself, I’ve just worked out how to do the tiny gathers at the waist …

  6. Teresa B July 20, 2015 at 8:21 pm #

    I’m also a fan of Lanthe! The purple hair is so shiny and silky, her dress is just awesome! And did you add the tattoos? The one of Caliope and the puppy is so sweet!

    • barbielea July 21, 2015 at 7:24 pm #

      Thanks Teresa! Yes I did add the tattoos myself, see my reply to Blackkitty above ^^^ I love the one of Lea with the dog too, I need to use more animals in my pics!

  7. discodiva July 20, 2015 at 10:07 pm #

    you are quite the “Artiste” when it comes not only to your sewing but the photographs are stupendous. I esp Love Lanthe-her purple hair is Awesome. Did you do the artwork on the tattoos? If so, what did you use? You never cease to amaze me, you inspire me & I Thank you

    • barbielea July 21, 2015 at 7:27 pm #

      Oh thanks Discodiva that’s so kind. I just love taking pictures of dolls, I can’t help myself! Re: Ianthe’s tattoos, please see reply to Blackkitty above ^^^ it’s very easy to do 🙂

  8. Andrea July 24, 2015 at 1:01 pm #

    Great Pictures! The one of Ianthe with her blowing purple hair is priceless and the three girls sitting on the beach is my second favorite. Ianthe’s tattoos look great, I should try to tattoo some of my wild at heart ladies. Both dresses came out great, well done. Ianthe’s dress is the perfect beach dress.

    • barbielea July 24, 2015 at 4:31 pm #

      Thanks Andrea! Yes, Ianthe’s dress is something that I would actually wear myself. It’s surprisingly hard to make realistic doll fashions, but I think it worked out well this time. You should defintely try tattooing – so much fun!

Leave a Reply

