High Summer With Dracaulauras 

22 Aug

I’ve been back at my Parents’ house this week and I always take dolls with me – the scenery round there is too good to pass up the photo opportunities. This time, I was struck by a sudden enthusiasm for Draculaura before I went, so I ended up packing three. The one I really wanted wasn’t easy to find (yes, the doll drawers are not at their best right now), so I pulled out the “I Love Shoes” Lala, just in case: 

  

 
I’ve featured this doll before, but it’s nice to take new pictures of her. By the way, the high-waisted skirt she wore in the box is missing a button (which I have safe, awaiting reattachment) so I used her cape as a skirt. I think these dolls’ outfits are designed to be styled different ways – Cleo from the same line has a one-piece swimsuit under her harem pants. It’s a nice feature, one that reminds me of 70s Barbie (for instance, Pretty Changes, who also had the skirt that doubled as a cape and the hairband that could be worn as a skirt etc etc). It’s a nice gimmick, especially because there are not many fashion packs for Monster High dolls so its fun to be able to vary their look so easily.

Anyway, after poking around for a while, I also found my target doll, Creepateria Draculaura: 

  
I really love this Lala. I like her sultry narrowed eyes, the pale pink streaks in her hair, and the yellow around the eyes (I’m a sucker for yellow on Draculaura). I honestly can’t remember if I’ve featured her before – if I have, it’s only been fleetingly in a group post, though, and she deserves some nice pictures of her own. 

Lastly, I ended up bringing a doll I got for my birthday back in March – Sweet Screams. I just thought that if I was going to overdose everybody on Draculaura pictures, I might as well include her. 

  
And she IS an overdose, isn’t she? Black on pink on more black on more pink and so on and so forth. I love her. I know I’m pretty late to the party, as really the Sweet Screams dolls were last year’s sweethearts, but still. This was the first time I’ve photographed her out of the box, and she’s so photogenic its ridiculous. No wonder this wave was so popular. 

Well, I hope you like the results. Although I’m usually Team Frankie, I have to admit that there’s nothing as nice as a nice Draculaura, when you’re in the mood for taking pictures of her … 

 Edit   
    
    
 

10 Responses to “High Summer With Dracaulauras ”

  1. discodiva August 22, 2015 at 11:18 pm #

    WoW! what great photos,esp that first one, looks like a waterfall. Do I see a real bunny rabbit in the other? I can see why you like to visit your parents-its BEAUTIFUL, Thank you for sharing these stunning photos

    • barbielea August 23, 2015 at 8:43 am #

      Thankyou so much Discodiva! I’m glad you liked them 🙂 that first picture was taken on a fallen tree by a stream. I can’t see a bunny rabbit 🙂 there are rabbits in the woods, though, so you never know!

  2. Andrea August 23, 2015 at 12:08 am #

    Great Pictures of the lovely Lalas. This landscape is almost begging to be a backdrop for doll pictures. I love the Wonderlandian atmosphere of the last photograph.

    • amystika18n August 23, 2015 at 2:01 am #

      I totally agree about the last photo being Wonderlandian-Sweet Screams Lala makes an adorable Queen of Hearts!

      • barbielea August 23, 2015 at 8:44 am #

        Thankyou Amy – yes she would make a great Queen of Hearts!!

    • barbielea August 23, 2015 at 8:44 am #

      Thankyou Andrea 🙂 it’s a magical place …

  3. Blackkitty August 23, 2015 at 9:21 am #

    I understand what you mean by “a nice Draculaura”. I love ILS Draculaura but the gloves broke the deal for me and I wanted Creepateria because I like Draculauras without a fringe but I already have one (from the car set). What I really want is the Draculocker doll 😦

    • barbielea August 24, 2015 at 7:59 pm #

      🙂 … I know the gloves aren’t popular with everybody but I do like them … FYI, Sweet Screams’ gloves are even more extreme, going up to the elbow. Even I’m not sure about them … I remember that you prefer your Draculaura without a fringe, I do love the one that came with the roadster, she’s beautiful. I can’t remember the Draculocker one, I’ll have a look.

  4. Linda August 23, 2015 at 2:28 pm #

    Such lovely pictures, and gorgeous dolls! ❤ !

Leave a Reply

