Sisterhood of the World Blogger’s Award

18 Sep

So, I’ve been absent for a while but during that time, Barb the Evil Genius, who writes My Little Doll Corner, kindly nominated me for a Blogger’s award and asked me to answer some questions. 

  
Barb, sorry it’s taken me forever to get round to this, but I made it there in the end. Here we go: 
1. Do you collect anything other than dolls? 

Yes. I have a small collection of vintage china tea sets. I have another small collection of vintage broaches and pins. My main side collection, though, is old children’s books, ones with nice illustrations. I pick most of them up from charity shops and car boot sales. Here are a few: 

  
2. Why did you start a doll blog? 

Because I was in danger of driving Mr Bat completely mad by constantly sharing my opinions on doll lines with him, so I decided I needed a healthier outlet for it. I knew very little at that time about the online doll community and I’d never met another doll collector in RL (actually, I still haven’t, isn’t that a strange thought?) so a blog seemed like the best bet. It never occurred to me to try to find other collectors on social media instead, although I’ve met a lot of people that way since. 

3. Do you have one particular doll that is the favourite in your collection? 

Of course not. I would never play favourites. All my dolls are wonderful and special in their own way. 

  
4. Your favourite doll accessory? 

I never thought about it before. Probably my white sofa. I have more interesting props, but none so versatile. A few years ago I went through a phase of constantly photographing my dolls sitting on sofas. 

   
 5. Do you know exactly how many dolls you have in your collection? 

Nope. I don’t have a cataloguing system and I’ve never kept a running total. I once made an estimate at about 700 based on the capacity of the doll drawers, but I could have been way out in either direction, really. And I’ve bought a lot of dolls since then. 

6. Do you play any instruments and if so, what? 

The guitar, just a little bit. I haven’t played for years though, much to my Father’s disappointment (his highest ambition for me was to be a folk singer). 

  
7. Where is your most favourite place you’ve ever been? 

The countryside where I grew up. It’s magical and it makes me very happy. I take doll photos there sometimes: 

   
   
8. Where would you most like to visit, that you’ve never visited? 

I really don’t know. To be honest, I’m quite happy where I am most of the time. Mars, maybe? 

9. Is there a retired doll or doll line that you’d like to bring back? 

Sindy!! I know we have the Tonners but I’m not a big fan. I’m talking proper playline Sindy. Much as I love them, I’d prefer to not to see her as a Barbie wannabe like the later Hasbros or Vivid dolls, but then I don’t think the vintage face we know and love would do well in today’s market, either. So it would have to be a new, exciting, completely cool Sindy. 

  
10. If you could design your own doll, what would it look like? 

I designed my own Makies 🙂 so probably a bit like them. A more grown-up version of a Makie would be fun. (My Makies are currently awaiting a cleanup and makeover after spending some strenuous time on the beach over summer, so here’s an older pic of Pocofaux): 

  

I hope nobody minds if I don’t directly pass this award on? I don’t actually keep up with many doll blogs (I know – the shame! It’s mostly a time issue) so I always seem to be tagging the same people. Tell you what – if you read this and you write a doll blog, you’re tagged! If you do do this, please do leave me a link in the comments so I can see your answers to these questions too.  

4 Responses to “Sisterhood of the World Blogger’s Award”

  1. Taswegian1957 September 19, 2015 at 1:26 pm #

    I thought I would take a shot at it. Here are my answers.
    https://vandajensen.wordpress.com/2015/09/19/sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award/

    • barbielea September 27, 2015 at 6:56 pm #

      Yay! Thanks for this, Taswegian 🙂

  2. mossgoss October 5, 2015 at 10:05 am #

    Congrats on the award! Do you get a real jeans patch?? I had (well, M+D have at their house) the treasury of children’s stories! I re-read last Xmas and only realised as an adult just how sad the introductory story is… -M

    • barbielea October 12, 2015 at 10:18 pm #

      Sadly, no jeans patch! Maybe I should make myself one … Don’t remember the first story particularly, but yes – these books often feature sad stories with no happy ending. It’s character building, I’m sure …

Leave a Reply

