Death Becomes Her 

11 Oct

So, I am behind with my Monsters again, but when I have a really special one I hate cramming her into a multi-doll post. And I absolutely think that River Styxx is special. She was my knee-jerk primo target doll from Haunted, and although it did take me a while to get around to buying her, she’s still one of my favourites from a line that was packed with great dolls. 

  
River is a mini Reaper. For starters, that’s a great, edgy concept, even for Monster High. It doesn’t get darker than Death itself. I think they have done their best to soften the concept with the pastel colour theme, the teeny-weeny cute little-sister body size, and the fact that unlike most Monsters, she’s actually smiling. Unlike Skeleton Girl and Skelita, she is skeleton-themed without being truly skeleton-limbed – her bones are covered with a translucent purple material, which suggests she is a skeleton/ ghost hybrid. This works pretty well, although I’m not sure about the white elbow and knee joints. Her hands are interesting, as the bones are drawn on them, kind of like gloves: 

  
  
As usual in this wave, River comes with a range of plastic, chain themed decorations – her staff (with a death’s head bow on it), a chain belt, a bow/ chain necklace, a HUGE bow/ chain attachment for the small of her back, and the bow/chains on her cowboy boots. Personally, I think that these are overkill, but I have to admit that they look pretty good and they do give her a nice sense of movement. 

   
 
I do love her black net cape and her tie-dye-looking dress, though: 

  
I do hope River comes up other lines, but as strictly speaking, she’s not really a student of Monster High, I suppose she might not. FYI, I know this because I watched Haunted. This is the first time I’ve watched a MH film and to be honest, I won’t be doing it again. I’m not going to be critical because a) I know and like a lot of people who enjoy watching them, and I don’t want to come across like I’m judging (I’m not!! Each to their own, I say) and b) I’m aware that I’m not the target demographic for these cartoons, so I’ve not got the right to get sniffy. But in future, I’ll be sticking to the dolls …. 

   
    
    
  

2 Responses to “Death Becomes Her ”

  1. Andrea October 14, 2015 at 12:10 pm #

    Your pictures of River are awesome. I love the Wonderland atmosphere of them. River is one of my favorites from this line as well, the other one is Vandala Dublons. I can relate on how you feel about the movies. They are cute for children though.

    • barbielea October 17, 2015 at 9:40 pm #

      Thankyou Andrea 🙂 every season, the woods near my parents’ house has a new surprise and this Autumn, it was a load of enormous mushrooms. They were amazing things, just right for my pictures.

      I do love Vandala, but I’ve missed out on her so far. One day!

Leave a Reply

