Adventures in Rebodying 16 – Barbie Basics 

12 Oct

Just time for a quick post tonight – I’m back home now, but fortunately I had the foresight to take some pics while I was away visiting my parents this weekend, so here are three of my recently rebodied Basics in the woods: 

  

   
    
 
   
    
 
These pictures were so much fun to do! I love having my Basics on poseable bodies. I did promise to share details of my donor doll – well, she is a Chinese-produced clone called Chloe, who can be found on sale in discount shops over here. Sadly, she only comes in this one skin colour, but it is a very useful colour at least. Before this, Raquelle was the palest pivotal body I could find, and the pale Basics, along with many of my other dolls, just weren’t a great match. Model Muse pivotal donors are far too expensive and hard-to-find in this country to ever be an option, and I tried LIV but just couldn’t bond with the results. I’ve already rebodied over ten dolls via the Chloe route, and have plenty more to go. A decent rebody onto one of these clones requires a little extra work that I’d like to talk you through, but it is worth it. I promise I’ll write a full post about it just as soon as I can. 

14 Responses to “Adventures in Rebodying 16 – Barbie Basics ”

  1. Teresa B October 13, 2015 at 3:14 am #

    These pictures are exquisite! Just beautiful 🙂

    • barbielea October 13, 2015 at 8:25 am #

      Oh thankyou Teresa 🙂 you’re very kind!

  2. Taswegian1957 October 13, 2015 at 3:25 am #

    They certainly do look better on these bodies. I would consider rebodying a couple of mine but as you say donor bodies at a good price are hard to come by, especially here. Even the current Style Barbies are nearly $A30 locally so I’d be looking on the internet or waiting for a market find. Do you think Chloe would be available online? I would definitely be interested in the tutorial if so.

    • barbielea October 13, 2015 at 8:34 am #

      Thankyou Taswegian! Strangely enough, I’ve just found an online seller (either Hong Kong or China, can’t remember which) who is selling what appears to be the same body as Chloe’s for the bargain price of £1.48. They may be a little darker than Chloe, it’s hard to tell from photos. I’ve ordered a couple and am waiting for them to arrive. I’ll send a link to the listing at the weekend when I write my post, if you’re interested.

      • Taswegian1957 October 13, 2015 at 9:23 am #

        Yes please, postage from China to here is usually very cheap, even free so it’s worth looking into.

    • barbielea October 17, 2015 at 9:51 pm #

      (See link below in reply to Andrea’s comment) 🙂

      • Taswegian1957 October 18, 2015 at 1:30 am #

        Thanks I had a look and as I had trouble logging into eBay UK looked for them on eBay au and found about 3 sellers offering what looks like the identical dolls. About $3 in our money but free postage so worth experimenting. The Chinese have obviously cottoned on to the fact that a lot of doll collectors like to rebody. Will order a couple and await your tutorial with interest.

  3. Blackkitty October 13, 2015 at 8:44 pm #

    You can find plenty of light coloured headless articulated bodies online. They are hollow and shiny. If articulation is more important than quality, they’ll do.

    • barbielea October 13, 2015 at 8:55 pm #

      These aren’t hollow, but they are obviously knock-offs. Seams tend to look a little rough (I trim them down with a craft knife) and they probably wouldn’t stand up to heavy play from a child. I don’t know what the online ones are like, as I haven’t seen them yet. I’m aware that this isn’t a solution that everybody will be interested in. Each to their own.

      • Blackkitty October 14, 2015 at 11:19 am #

        Really? The only non-hollow bodies I know are recasts of swapping heads bodies in the regular Barbie colour, of which I have 3.

  4. Andrea October 14, 2015 at 12:42 pm #

    Your parents place is a real treasure of backdrops for doll pictures. I do love the dreamy atmosphere you caught in your pictures. Those bodies look very interesting indeed. Are there any size differences to the original Fashionista bodies? I bought some more of the Abbie dolls for rebodying, but unfortunately their bust measure is smaller than the Fashionista body. May I ask you for the link to that seller als well?

    • barbielea October 17, 2015 at 9:50 pm #

      Nope, I’ve not seen any difference in size, I think they “stole” the body shape directly from Fashionista Barbie, but Abbie are LIV rip-offs so will have smaller boobs and hips (they will fit model muse clothes better). Here is the link: http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/161841327630?_mwBanner=1 … Warning – as Blackkitty points out, they will doubtless be lower quality than Fashionistas, and as I’ve not received the ones I’ve ordered yet I’m not in a position to say how much lower quality. I think they’re worth a go, though – I will TRY to post my neck conversion tutorial soon. 🙂

      • Andrea October 20, 2015 at 3:06 pm #

        Thank you for the link, Lea! Hugs

      • barbielea October 20, 2015 at 9:39 pm #

        Pleasure!! Xx

Leave a Reply

