Ghost of Christmas Presents 2015 – Bibbidi Bobbidi Boo 

29 Dec

Sadly, a lot of the North of England is threatened with or suffering from the effects of storms and flooding this year. I reckon that all of us in the at-risk Counties could do with a Fairy Godmother to watch over us right now, and here is mine. I received the Mattel version of the Live Action Cinderella Fairy Godmother doll from Mr Bat this year, and I really do love her.


For once, I am writing about a film tie-in doll that comes from a film I’ve actually watched, and I think they’ve done a more than passable job with the Helena Bonham Carter sculpt. No potato nose! I’m impressed. In terms of appearance, I have no complaints, really. Given her relatively high (for playline) retail price, I’d have liked to have seen slightly better materials used – her dress, for instance, looks lovely but is made of that shiny plastic that cheap princess dresses are often made from rather than proper fabric. Also, on inspection, her curls conceal a sparse rooting pattern, which wouldn’t work with any other style.



Strangely for me, one of the things I like best about this doll is her fixed arm positions. Yes, unfortunately she’s not pivotal – the Disney Store version had jointed wrists, elbows and shoulders, but this one only has jointed shoulders and even those seem to have curiously limited movement. But I love the magical poses she can strike! I do have a spare pivotal body that would suit her skin colour, but I don’t even think I’ll do it.



  

4 Responses to “Ghost of Christmas Presents 2015 – Bibbidi Bobbidi Boo ”

  1. Taswegian1957 December 29, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

    She has a wonderful face, really lifelike. I agree about the dress, such a pretty doll ought to have a proper dress not one of those plasticy ones.
    I hope the flooding is not too bad where you are. I saw York on the news last night which gave me a jolt as I remember visiting there in 1990, one of my favourite English cities.

  2. Andrea January 2, 2016 at 2:53 pm #

    I hope the floods will only be minor, water is such a terrible force. I was already tempted by her this summer at one of my rare TRU visits. While I liked the doll, I was totally bummed by her cheapo foil dress and her collar, tiara and wings look almost like a hot-glue experiment. They were charging 50 Euros, so she was left there. Obviously a lot of poeple had the same opinion, because they showed up on reduced sale in one of our supermarkets for less than half price. That propelled her under my tree as well. I love the doll and actually like the sculpt of her ballerina-like hands as well. A happy New Year to you!

  3. Jaye January 14, 2016 at 2:14 am #

    I like her face. I think they did a good job with her.

  4. Teresa B. January 24, 2016 at 7:10 pm #

    I hope you and your family are safe in the midst of storms and flooding. Thankfully our area has been relatively tame (3-4 feet of snow is normal for us) but I have lots of friends and family who are in those high risk areas of the US.
    I love this Fairy Godmother. I agree they did a great job with her face. I love the way her hands are sculpted, very fairy-like.

Leave a Reply

