I’m late, I’m late, I’m late … 

8 Apr

  
I was planning to save Bunny for a series of posts later in Spring, but I just couldn’t resist the pun. I AM late – I missed Easter, Mother’s Day, Barbie’s birthday, all the special occasions I like to do posts for. Plus, I’m now so behind with blogging about my purchases, it’s kind of insane. Things are a bit crazy here right now (I’ll explain another time) and I’ve been terrible at correspondence and posting. I’m sorry. 

Well, Bunny … I never planned to get Bunny, even though I really like her theme, the idea, her design etc. The big issue? EYE WONK. LIKE, THE WORST EYE WONK EVER. I have seen very few of these dolls with decent eyes that both look forward. However, I found her recently in a discount shop and ended up giving in. At least seeing them on the shelves rather than ordering online gave me an opportunity to pick the best one I could find. 

  
I don’t want to sound completely down on poor old bunny, but I also encountered another issue after deboxing – completely greasy, rigid hair. I washed it with soap and then I had to trim the uneven ends off, but to be honest I kind of expected that, as I’ve never had an EAH doll arrive with decent hair. 

   
 Bunny is one of those great dolls who has no pink whatsoever in her outfit (OK, I actually don’t mind pink, I just can’t deal with constant pink all the time). I love her waistcoat – although I’d prefer it if it was detachable – and her button boots, which make her legs look super curvy: 

  

Like other EAH characters, she isn’t at all Anthro – if this was Monster High maybe she’d have real bunny ears, but at EAH even the daughters of animals are pretty much human (Cerise’s wolf ears and Kitty’s slitted pupils aside). Still, she’s cute – I like the fact that her and the other Wonderlandians are tiny, it’s a nice gimmick. 

As I’ve mentioned before, I do have a soft spot for Wonderland themed dolls, so it’s great to be getting so many via Ever After High. I do have one or two more lying around, so I’ll probably bring Bunny back for some group photos on another post. 

   
 

14 Responses to “I’m late, I’m late, I’m late … ”

  1. Blackkitty April 9, 2016 at 6:01 pm #

    You aren’t really late, the Orthodox Easter is on May 1st this year 🙂
    The hair doesn’t look too bad in your pictures, how did you wash it?

    • barbielea April 9, 2016 at 6:24 pm #

      Thanks Blackkitty! Actually, I washed her hair with washing up liquid, as I figured that’s designed to deal with grease. It worked pretty well. I thought it might make the hair a bit dry, but it didn’t.

  2. barbtheevilgenius April 10, 2016 at 7:30 pm #

    EAH dolls have been so darn enjoyable to collect, even with their manufacturing flaws. I do have one doll with bad glue hair at the moment. Already tried dish detergent once. Going with tea tree shampoo next.

    • barbielea April 10, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

      I agree Barb – they are lovely, and apart from the eye wonk, they are usually pretty easy flaws to mend. I read about tea tree oil – I’ll be interested to know if that works out, as I have a couple of Monsters who have proved resistant to washing up liquid.

      • barbtheevilgenius April 19, 2016 at 6:22 pm #

        The tea tree shampoo did not work well. Now I’m pondering my other options.

      • barbielea April 25, 2016 at 8:48 pm #

        I think Blackkitty did a tutorial on the Multicrafteral Lab about cleaning greasy hair? I’ve never tried it, but if you’re struggling it might be worth looking up?

      • Blackkitty April 26, 2016 at 7:21 pm #

        Blackkitty needs to post an update about greasy hair. The short story is that I’m not happy with that method. The last thing I tried that was somehow satisfying was corn starch – rub it in the hair, rub-rub-rub, leave it for at least a few hours, wash with strong dish soap, rinse with conditioner.

    • barbtheevilgenius April 26, 2016 at 9:27 pm #

      I bought a budget Ashlynn and did a head swap, so now my greasy-headed Ashlynn is body-less. I’m toying with the idea of doing a re-root, just to see if I can. Maybe first I’ll try Blackkitty’s new technique.

  3. Teresa B. April 10, 2016 at 11:56 pm #

    I’ve been kind of backlogged on the blogging too…life, right? 🙂 You and be both have a soft spot for the Wonderlandians. (I actually bought Bunny too, she’s due in the mail this week) 🙂 I’ve heard about her eye wonk, can’t they ever get this right? But she is darling and as soon as I get her I’ll be washing all the junk out of her hair too. She is awesome, I do hope you get a post of with the group. That would be so very awesome!

    • barbielea April 17, 2016 at 6:40 pm #

      Hi Teresa 🙂 have you seen any comments from me recently? I’ve been having trouble leaving comments on your blog again, I haven’t checked for a bit so I don’t know how many worked and how many didn’t.

      Good luck with your Bunny, fingers crossed for a wonk-free one!

      • Teresa B. April 19, 2016 at 6:07 pm #

        I haven’t seen many comments from you. Not sure why it’s not working! Hm. I got my bunny and she does have a little eye wonk but nothing I can’t get past! Hooray 🙂

      • barbielea April 25, 2016 at 8:47 pm #

        Good news about Bunny 🙂 some of them I’ve seen have been pretty bad …

  4. Andrea April 11, 2016 at 1:32 pm #

    Bunny is a cutie, you just have to love a Wonderland themed doll, right?. I love her boots and her headpiece. The greasy glue hair is a major turn off for me though and I still have to find a really working remedy for this. Since your dishwashing soap worked, would you mind of letting us know what brand you used?

    I’m looking forward to a Wonderlandians group post as well.

    • barbielea April 17, 2016 at 6:45 pm #

      Hi Andrea and thankyou 🙂 I’ve got a feeling with the washing up liquid I used was made by Persil (who also makes washing powder for clothes). Hope useful.

Leave a Reply

