Adventures In Rebodying 18 – Made To Move Top Model 

17 Apr

I was recently lucky enough to acquire a 2007 “Top Model: Resort” Teresa with a big job lot of clothes I bought. Now, unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how you look at it) this happened at the same time as I took delivery of two Made To Move dolls that I had purchased for rebodying purposes. Fortunately – because she is a perfect skin match for one of the dolls I bought (coincidentally, also a Theresa, the newish sculpt that’s proved so popular) and because together, they make a beautiful, flexible, amazing doll. Unfortunately – because this means that one of my stiff dolls who has been waiting for ages already will just have to hang on a bit longer. Sigh. Sisyphus should have counted himself lucky he was never a compulsive doll rebodier. 

Anyhoo, poor old Top Model turned up with pen on her face, so she had to spend a week slathered in acne cream whilst hanging upside down from the shade of the bedroom lamp with her head next to the bulb. This worked out very well, although it didn’t look very dignified:

  

I was interested to note that Mr Bat pretty much ignored this (or at least, never said anything about it, which I suppose is a little bit different). Have we reached the point where it’s normal and unremarkable to find dolls hanging naked from household objects? Apparently so. 

Here are my donor and my recipient before the swap: 

  
… And here is my “spare parts” doll, who I will eventually sell on (although I actually think she looks lovely): 

  
And here is my gorgeous rebodied Top Model, who I have Christened Delores: 

  

   

  

  
   
 What do you think? I still need to write about the Made To Moves (I have two who will be staying/ not to be used as rebodying fodder) so for now, I’ll just say – wow, the posing ability of these bodies is something else. I’m not tempted to replace all my Fashionistas (although I know people who have) and I wouldn’t be using them for rebodies if they were the full RRP of £16.99 as that’s just too expensive, but I’ve certainly got my fingers crossed for a nice big sale on these at some point so I can stock up. 

  

13 Responses to “Adventures In Rebodying 18 – Made To Move Top Model ”

  1. ThomasJ April 17, 2016 at 10:06 pm #

    stunning rebodying! wonderful photos and composition! I may have said this before, but outdoor photos (or outdoor LOOKING photos) are sooooo much better! 🙂

    • barbielea April 18, 2016 at 9:16 am #

      Thankyou so much Tom! Yes, these pictures were taken outside – I agree, outdoor pics do tend to look better. Indoors, without very well-planned lighting and a great camera, it’s much harder to get decent shots, I find. And I’m a sucker for the “doll + nature” look too, I never get bored of it 🙂 unfortunately given my work hours and the terrible winter light here, sometimes outdoor pics just aren’t possible, but I’m much happier when they are!

  2. Taswegian1957 April 17, 2016 at 11:51 pm #

    She looks fabulous. I wish that the Made to Move dolls were cheaper. I’ve got a few favourites that I’d love to have that poseability but at $A25 that’s not going to happen. I’ll have to wait till they start turning up in Op Shops in another year or so probably.

    • barbielea April 18, 2016 at 9:22 am #

      Thankyou Taswegian 🙂 prices will drop further on these first-wave M2Ms I think, especially when the next wave hits (unless they have made a much better stock calculation than usual that is). I always dream of finding pivotal Fashionistas in charity shops/ car boot sales but it’s a rare occurrence in this country, I’m afraid, and they have a good resale value on eBay etc so it’s hard to find a bargain. Grrr!

      • Taswegian1957 April 18, 2016 at 11:52 am #

        It sure is. I hope that we will see more Made to Move dolls as at least it will increase our chances of finding them on the secondary market later but I worry they might be a one off gimmick like the Swappin’ Heads girls.

  3. ikijibiki April 18, 2016 at 1:08 am #

    Lovely!

  4. amystika18n April 18, 2016 at 6:37 am #

    Delores looks great! I think the new sculpt used on Made to Move Teresa looks a bit like Stana Katic from Castle-am I onto something or just seeing things?

    • barbielea April 18, 2016 at 9:31 am #

      Thanks Amy 🙂 being old/ English/ mostly TV abstinent, I had no idea who Stana Katic was (what a great name, though) so I googled her and yes, she does. I find it interesting when dolls remind you of celebrities but aren’t sold as celebrity dolls. I think a lot of the Monster High dolls are modelled on celebrities. This M2M doll reminds me of Penelope Cruz, although maybe that’s just because of the Anjelica from Pirates of the Caribbean Barbie …

  5. Andrea May 1, 2016 at 3:04 pm #

    Great rebodying! I’m with Taswegian1957 about the price of the M2M dolls, so it will be Fashionista bodies for my girls, until the M2M show up on the secondary market. She might be right about the one off gimmick as well.

    • barbielea May 2, 2016 at 11:11 pm #

      Thankyou Andrea 🙂 I really hope the M2Ms aren’t a gimmick! I have seen plenty of pictures of the next wave (I can’t swear to the fact that they’re real as this was on social media, but here’s hoping) and I’m heartened by the fact that there are a few collector-level dolls (like Wonderwoman and the upcoming Misty Copeland doll) with M2M style joints. I think a lot depends on how they sell, and they do seem to be holding their prices pretty well. Fingers crossed!

  6. roro May 13, 2016 at 5:08 pm #

    Looking great!
    I need more Laras in my life.
    This Teresa is a cutie too…

    reagarding bootsales I was quite lycky recently tbh – got two Liv dolls 5with bag of accessories) from middle aged guy with sons for i-cant-even-tell-you-for-how-little;-) and fashionista for 1 pound:-)
    Where ar eyou? I’m in Norfolk:-)

    • barbielea May 14, 2016 at 9:04 pm #

      Hello Roro 🙂 congrats on your LIV. Score, it’s a great feeling when you find something good at a car boot! (I got some great stuff last weekend). I’m in Manchester 🙂

Leave a Reply

