Boo York, Boo York 

25 Apr

My love affair with Monsters – well, I’m not sure if I’d say it’s waning, but I do think I’ve nearly reached saturation point now. When I see a gorgeous new MH doll, for the most part I’m happy to look at the pictures rather than running out to the shops or looking her up online. I’m just content with what I have. 

Usually. For some reason, the Boo York dolls have got to me, and when looking at them I have felt a little tingle of the old compulsion I used to feel about nearly every new MH release. They’re just so fantastical and dramatic – I love them. 

After Luna (who I bought and photographed a while ago) I think my next favourite is Catty. Actually, initially I wasn’t particularly interested – I found the combination of red lips, pink and blue hair and silver and fuchsia outfit just a little bit too much. But as I’ve viewed more photos, she’s grown on me – a lot. And I was pleased to find that when I bought her, I didn’t get that disappointing feeling of anticlimax that I sometimes feel when I pick something up that I’ve been thinking about buying for a while. I actually think I like her more in the plastic than I do in pictures. 


Maybe it’s the hair? I’ve always liked two-colour hair, and hers definitely makes her look different to her previous versions. Maybe it’s just that I am always predisposed to love a cat doll – some of my favourite MHs are kind of anthro. Maybe I’ve finally clicked with the wacky colour combinations that I didn’t like in the first place? Maybe it’s the synchronicity – she’s a fantasy glam-rock-esque princess, and this year we seem to be losing some of our most glamourous, OTT pop icons. She’s a zeitgeist Kitty. Fun. 




So, I was planning to leave it there when boom – I spied the glamorous Nefara on sale in a shop and I fell for her bright purple eyes and her humourous resemblance to the Statue of Liberty. Again, I think she’s much more striking in real life, although the fact is that she takes a very fine photograph too. 


I already have a Nefara and I hadn’t planned to get another one, but it really is a beautiful sculpt. Ho hum. Looks like I’m not done with Monster High just yet. 




2 Responses to “Boo York, Boo York ”

  1. Andrea May 1, 2016 at 3:08 pm #

    I fell for Nefera as well. She is too beautiful to pass. I love the b/w portrait shot of her.

    • barbielea May 2, 2016 at 11:02 pm #

      Thanks Andrea! Yes, she’s beautiful – it’s a really great sculpt.

Leave a Reply

