Fashionistas Great and Small 

1 May

So, yesterday, Mr Bat bought me the newly released curvy Fashionista (Chambray Chic) as a gift. I bought myself the curly-haired Millie (Powder Pink). I already had (along with several still-unboxed Fashionistas – I’ve got to a point where I’m not even sure how many) the ‘tall’ White and Pink Pizzazz and the ‘small’ Blue Brocade, meaning that I have an example of every new body type used in this range now. Here they are: 


I wasn’t initially keen on Chambray Chic because I really, REALLY don’t like her outfit. I don’t like the colour combinations on her, and I don’t like the shape – is that meant to be a flared skirt or a straight skirt or what?? The belt is also ugly and terribly executed, so that’s basically all of it. Don’t get me wrong, I do like this doll’s sculpt which is brand new for this line (although I think I much prefer the brunette version, Spring Into Style) and these Fashionistas generally have some pretty great outfits. But this dress? Nah. In the end, I caved, though. A new body type and a new sculpt! What else was I going to do? 

White and Pink Pizzazz, the tall girl, was an instant yes from me. I love this sculpt! I love her colouring. I like it so much that it took me a while to realise that actually, I’m not too keen on her outfit either. The colours aren’t as awful as Chambray Chic’s but I think the shape looks wrong on her and I don’t think the skirt and top go well with her jewellery and shoes. 

On the other hand, I love the outfits worn by Blue Brocade and Powder Pink. At first, I thought Powder Pink was a little girly for my taste but she’s really grown on me. Her curly hair is nicely done (if a little crispy with gel) and her dress has a nice boho vibe. Blue Brocade’s dress is also pretty, but what really drew me to her (aside from the Mbili sculpt, which I love, and the unusually dark skin) was her drawn-up “Mohican” hairstyle – so classy and cute. 

Here they all are out of the box: 


One good thing I noticed after deboxing:


Patterns go all the way around to the back of the outfits! Woo, no more half dresses 🙂 

Anyway, now they were all out I thought I’d do a little experimenting, fashion wide. First of all, a straight outfit swap between the two dolls whose clothes I liked the least: 


To my surprise, it worked pretty well. The white skirt is a little tight on Chambray Chic – she can’t move her legs much once it’s on – but it fits OK and I think it suits her much better than it does her skinny companion. Yes, P&W Pizzazz looks a bit Snow Whitish in CC’s dress, but it goes better with her accessories than her original outfit, and I think the bright colours suit her better than they do CC. 



Right. Time to try something else! 


I noticed that Powder Pink’s dress seemed very roomy through the bodice, which made me wonder. Sure enough, her dress is a great fit on CC – no stretching or corset lacing required. I think it looks great on her, too. Her fair colouring is really pastel-friendly. 

So far, the doll I was most worried about re-dressing has done best with alternative outfits.  I had a poke through my random clothes boxes to find something else nice for W&P Pizzazz: 


The skirt is labelled “Flavas”, although I’m not sure which doll it’s from. I’m not sure about the teeshirt at all, as its unlabelled and came in a job lot. I do like this kind of 70s look on her, though, and I think I’ll leave her in it for a while. 

Next, yet another look for CC: 

This is one of those late 90s Barbie dresses that always seemed a bit baggy and shapeless on the original dolls, but it looks great on the curvy body shape! When I get a minute, I’ll have a poke through my spare clothes as I’m sure I have a few that are a similar shape. Again, I think I’ll be leaving her in this for a while. 

So now I felt guilty for leaving my other two out, even though I like what they’re wearing. When I came to re-dress Blue Brocade, I made a disappointing discovery: 


Sadly, it looks like her eyebrow has been smudged whilst still wet and some of the paint has got into her nose and her cheek on the other side 😦 you know what? I could shout “quality control” but overall I’ve found that the Fashionistas I’ve deboxed have been really well produced, and they are budget dolls, so I’ve decided not to be too annoyed. I reckon a little acetone and a touch-up will sort her out nicely. 

Anyway, I decided to try her in a Sparkle Girlz dress – these dresses fit Barbie, but are on the petite side and tend to be a tight fir on a standard body. I think it worked out very well and it’s defintely something I’ll bear in mind for future re-dresses: 


And last but not least – well, is there anything that could possibly not suit Powder Pink, the quintessential Barbie? 


Maybe – haha. 

In case you haven’t gathered that I am just wow’ed by Barbie in 2016, I’ll say it again – these are exciting, fun dolls and I’m so looking forward to getting more. What do you think? Do let me know 🙂 

 

22 Responses to “Fashionistas Great and Small ”

  1. Taswegian1957 May 2, 2016 at 12:10 am #

    I definitely agree that those two dolls look better with their outfits swapped. I can think of a few Fashion Fever dresses in my stash that I always thought a bit shapeless so if I end up getting a curvy Barbie I should be able to redress her. How much taller is the tall one than standard Barbie? I think she’s my favourite of the bunch and I’m short so what does that tell you :-)?

    • barbielea May 2, 2016 at 10:31 am #

      Hi Taswegian 🙂 I haven’t measured her, but I’ve read that the “tall” Barbie is 30cm high, compared to standard Barbie’s 27.5cm. “Petite” Barbie is only 25cm. I wonder if there’s a bit of added variation because some of these dolls have flat feet and some have high-heel feet? (In these pics, Powder Pink and Brocade Blue have high heel feet and CC and Pizzazz have flat feet).

      🙂 I can honestly say that I’m loving the variety of these doll body types – I don’t have a favourite. They’re all really fun!

  2. D. Eng May 2, 2016 at 12:21 am #

    Really enjoy your blog, I’m glad to know others share my obsession, er passion for Barbies.
    Your photography is brilliant. I have two of these fashionistas: the Red Ruby Asian doll and the freckled red head. These and the made-to-move purple top propelled me back to my childhood. While I aplaud the diversity, I decry the lack of fashion and articulation of these fashionistas. Instead I am drawn to past eras and have amassed many of the Fashion Fever dolls and clothes.

    • barbielea May 2, 2016 at 9:38 pm #

      Oh thanks so much D. 🙂 I am so glad you’ve been enjoying the blog. You’re right – I do like some of these Fashionista’s outfits, but they’re not quite up to the standard of the old Fashion Fever dolls. Well, I don’t know if Barbie Style is done yet? They had great articulation, and their fashions were more adult and detailed. We will have to see. Best wishes 🙂

  3. Teresa B. May 2, 2016 at 1:22 am #

    I like the new body types but as you mentioned, the outfits aren’t “wowing” me. However you did a great job redressing them! Seeing as how the old dress fit the curvy Doll, I might be tempted to pick one up someday. I too have some of those dresses that seem shapeless on the original dolls.

    • barbielea May 2, 2016 at 9:38 pm #

      Thankyou Theresa! You should definitely pick a curvy up. I really didn’t expect them to be so much fun!

  4. mangusta May 2, 2016 at 11:03 am #

    That’s all in a topic of how the clothes won’t match all dolls 😀

    • barbielea May 2, 2016 at 9:40 pm #

      Hi Mangusta 🙂 No they don’t – but personally I like the challenge of finding stuff that fits them, more than I thought I would. And they might even motivate me to sew again, stranger things have happened!

      • mangusta May 4, 2016 at 8:56 am #

        As for not matching clothes, they look fantastic!

  5. Sandra May 2, 2016 at 6:16 pm #

    I love the pictures!! Just this weekend I redressed a few of my new fashionistas and the difference in feet is making it a big hard to buy shoes! I have this Curvy and the one with the Blue hair and since the one you have has flat feet and the other has heeled feet I couldn’t shoe switch just yet. I’m not used to the different size bodies just yet but I’ve had fun seeing which clothes fit curvy vs petite, etc. It’s been fun but I can’t imagine little girls getting this all down with any success, lol. Great post! xo

    • barbielea May 2, 2016 at 9:48 pm #

      Thanks Sandra! I’ve got to start doing some shoe experimentation too, but I’m thinking I’ve got a fair few Fashionista’s with flat feet from the last wave – the petite might be a challenge, maybe Skipper shoes?

      I wouldn’t worry about little girls, imagination finds a way 🙂 when I was a kid, most of my doll clothes were made from hankys, sweet wrappers and tissue paper!

  6. barbtheevilgenius May 3, 2016 at 2:41 am #

    I love all the clothing options you found for your dolls! I’m trying desperately to get some clothes for curvy Barbie in my Etsy store, but it’s rough going at the moment. 😦

  7. barbtheevilgenius May 5, 2016 at 4:36 pm #

    Is Tall Barbie’s skirt knit or woven?

    • barbielea May 8, 2016 at 9:58 pm #

      Hi Barb 🙂 yes, I’ve noticed that Curvy has been a particular favourite with clothes makers – maybe because of the challenge 🙂

      Tall Barbie’s skirt is made of nylon with a stretchy net overlay.

  8. Pam May 6, 2016 at 5:07 am #

    They all look lovely and it’s great to see that other outfits fit them. I like sewing Barbie clothes and was worried that none of my patterns will fit the new sizes, so this post is reassuring! Might have to buy a curvy doll and experiment…

    • barbielea May 8, 2016 at 10:01 pm #

      Thanks Pam 🙂 yes, I think a lot of clothes patterns will work with minor adjustments. I don’t sew much any more, but when I do I tend to make my own patterns anyway (I just find them easier to follow) so it’s not such an issue for me! I would like to do some experimenting about what would suit her, though. Maybe I’ll get round to it 🙂

  9. dollsinspace May 6, 2016 at 7:42 am #

    I love them too!!! I love the blue brocade girl even more after seeing this review; I didn’t notice that awesome hairstyle on IG… I just wish they would release a proper articulated body for this skin tone already!!!

    • barbielea May 8, 2016 at 10:04 pm #

      Hello Dollsinspace 🙂 this is off the top of my head, I’ve not checked it out properly – but I think maybe So In Style Chandra (the articulated version, from the last Pastry wave) would work pretty well in terms of colour match. She wouldn’t be so small and cute then, though! At least this girl has straight arms. If they must be stiff, at least don’t give them one bent arm!! I hate that …

  10. Andrea May 8, 2016 at 9:30 pm #

    Pizzazz and Brocade are adorable. I like Chambray’s face, but I agree that this outfit does not work for the cruvy body, especially with a belt accentuating the absence of a waist. She looks great in the outfit of Pizzazz. The stiffness might not be noticed by the younger kids, but I think the older ones would like to Sit them in a chair or on a shelf. Sitting sucks with thiese bodies, because they spreaf their legs, when you sit them down. Not ladylike at all. To me the straight legged stiffies are tolerable, but the on foot forward bodies only look good in the box. They topple over all the time, even in a doll stand. I decided to get just the sculpts that tuck at my heart, hoping they are not spoiled by “Yucky glue”, and wait out for improvement = articulation.

    • barbielea May 8, 2016 at 10:07 pm #

      Thanks Andrea 🙂 I agree that articulation would massively improve these dolls – they’d be just about perfect then. If love to see the new-style bodies articulated, I read somewhere that they’re considering it, so, maybe one day. Just hope we get them in a good, useful colour range if and when they turn up.

      Yes, I completely hear you about the bodies with the foot forward. Useless!!

  11. missandrada November 12, 2016 at 11:16 am #

    Oh my God! I am so in love with barbies! O absolutely love love love this post ❤️ followed you!!

Leave a Reply

