Ghost of Christmas Presents 2015 – LITD Raquelle

30 May

I was completely at the back of the queue when it came to LITD Raquelle. I prioritised Steffie-faced Midge (still one of my favourite dolls from last year) and I also picked up Summer and Barbie, but at first I just wasn’t sure about Raquelle. Then, by the time I decided I was sold on her, a) prices were ridiculous and b) I was on a self-imposed doll ban. At Christmas, Mr Bat and I were visiting TK Maxx (on a different doll mission) when we saw her again, so she ended up being one of my presents. Lucky! 

Prices on the reseller market went high (here, anyway) because she was SO POPULAR. Seriously, social media was FULL of images of her. What has struck me particularly about this is that her face sculpt, which features a crooked, smirky smile, is actually quite versatile in photos, as well as being a big departure from the fixed grins of the dolls that went before her. 


As I’ve said before, to me, the dolls from LITD who featured new sculpts looked like they were posing for selfies, as opposed to “traditional” Barbie faces which (70s onwards anyway) look more like they are posing at a beauty pageant. There is something very modern and refreshing about this, and it adds a very interesting element of personality – and humour. Why should beautiful girls always pull serious, considered faces? Don’t they continue to be beautiful when they mug at the camera like LITD, or pull a “what now???” kooky smirk, like Raquelle? Of course they do. 


Like all the LITD dolls, Raquelle has a “capsule wardrobe” of cute mixable pieces – actually, I think hers is the best outfit set of the wave. Raquelle’s style has always appealed best to me, maybe because it’s so un-pink. I particularly like her gold jacket and the matching necklace with the black bow. If I was going to criticise, I’d point out that it can’t comfortably fit over her red dress because of the frilled sleeve, and also that her shoes look a little big (which is why I have left them banded to her feet): 


But overall, she’s a great quality, well designed doll – in some ways, even more original than this year’s outstanding crop of Fashionistas. I may be late to the Raquelle Fan Club Party, but I’m definitely a paid-up member now.


(NOTE TO SELF: before you have to clean them up, it may seem like a good idea to tip sequins all over the tiled floor to take pictures of dolls in front of. It is NEVER a good idea – don’t do it again!!)

8 Responses to “Ghost of Christmas Presents 2015 – LITD Raquelle”

  1. Taswegian1957 May 31, 2016 at 5:35 am #

    Her expression alone is worth buying her for. One of my biggest problems with playline Barbie apart from the plastic clothing is the blank expression as if she is staring at nothing. The collectibles on the other hand tend to look as if they are looking down on us all. I’m all for quirky expressions.

    • barbielea June 4, 2016 at 9:21 pm #

      Yes Taswegian, I agree that the fixed-smile dolls are particularly prone to looking scarily vacant. I think that’s one of the reasons collectors and photo graphics tend to prefer the half-smiling dolls – like Lea 🙂 likewise, the collector dolls can look a bit chilly and judgemental. I love them all, but I feel most at home with the less vacant-looking playlines, like this one …

  2. Andrea June 1, 2016 at 8:32 am #

    I fell for her smirky grin the second I saw her and it was a great relief, that she wasn’t spoiled by yucky glue. All those toothy grins for more than 30 years became quite boring to me, she truly was a breath of fresh air. I think her smirky expression adds a little life to her, a personality. I din’t even notice, that the prices for her went overboard. The only other doll with a smirky grin is Dandelion from the Fairytopia line and I had to have her for her face as well.

    • barbielea June 4, 2016 at 9:23 pm #

      Oh I do love Dandelion Andrea! I’ve been tempted to get one for years. Now I think you’ve just enabled me – what a great rebodying project she’d be!

      • Andrea June 6, 2016 at 12:01 pm #

        I’m glad enabling works both ways, 😉 She really deserves a better body.

  3. Timelesslady June 2, 2016 at 1:30 pm #

    She’s beautiful. I love the smirky smile too.

    • barbielea June 4, 2016 at 9:24 pm #

      Thanks Timelesslady 🙂 isn’t she precious?

Leave a Reply

