Makies Nap Time 

5 Jun

After yet another months-long sewing drought, I finally managed to get it together for long enough to sew a project for my Makies girls which I have been mulling over for a long time now. I have read that a lot of the vintage Skipper patterns fit Makies. Luckily, I have a lovely old Simplicity pattern which I’ve always wanted to try, and it was this outfit (number 4) that particularly caught my eye: 

Super cute! It’s taken me a while (remember, I hand sew everything) but I’ve managed it. Verdict: the top is a bit loose so if I were to make it for Makies again, I’d do it a bit smaller, but the bloomers fit perfectly with no adjustment required. I also made another night-dress but by then I was kind of patterned out, so I just made it up as I went along. Would you like to see? 







This project also gave me an opportunity to use my Makies bunny slippers, which are just adorable, although I haven’t got around to painting the detail on them yet:


Why this burgeoning, inventive doll line disappeared just before Christmas (the closing-down message stated that it was a temporary situation and that Makies would be reopening in America shortly – which never happened) is so beyond me. What a shame, I would have loved a few more, and I know I’m not the only one. 

5 Responses to “Makies Nap Time ”

  1. majormistakes June 5, 2016 at 9:30 pm #

    Wait what? It’s closed? I wanted to buy one Makie but decided to spend money on bjd instead… and now I regret so much. That doll I bought is still available, but Makies are no longer here…

    Your clothes are cute, but those last lines of your post really made me sad 😦

    • barbielea June 6, 2016 at 9:40 am #

      Sorry to be the bearer of bad news Majormistakes 😦 I suppose there’s still a chance that they might resurface but if they were going to come back, it seems very odd that they’ve chosen to miss out on SIX MONTHS of sales, and pretty much maintained complete silence on all their social media pages – not one update, no news at all. It’s not looking good, really. I’m baffled – it’s not easy to get a good reputation like they had in the highly competitive toy industry, and to me it seems like they just threw it away. I’ve read of so many disappointed people who wanted to purchase, there was obviously a market. Crazy – and frustrating. I’m just glad I got my three before it happened (but still a little bit sad that the others I’d designed on the Makie Maker will never get made now).

      • majormistakes June 8, 2016 at 4:32 pm #

        Sadly, nothing we can do. I am glad that you have three of them, I found your Asian girl very cute 🙂

  2. Taswegian1957 June 6, 2016 at 10:47 am #

    The girls look cute in their outfits. That’s quite a handy looking pattern collection.

  3. Andrea June 6, 2016 at 12:29 pm #

    I love both outfits. Great job, Lea! The bunny slippers are droolworthy. So sad, that the company went out of business.

Leave a Reply

