A Dream Is A Wish Your Heart Makes

13 Aug

Hello all! Yes, I do need to apologise for ANOTHER long silence – trust me, I have a HUGE backlog of dolls to feature and a correspondingly large number of posts which I have written in my head. I’ll get around to it … Er, probably … 

Anyhoo, you know I don’t talk much about non-doll business and it’s not been the only factor, but the main reason for my long silence has been my almost constant sickness. This has been happening because in October, I’m due to have another baby – a girl this time. 

On the day I found out I was having a girl, I visited the Disney Store and I ended up buying this Classic Princess – 


Now, Cinderella is not my favourite Princess, but she seemed like the most suitable celebration doll. Maybe because in many ways she’s the Primo Princess – the most magical, Princessy Princess there is? Maybe because my doll room (soon to be a baby room – don’t ask me what I’m going to do with the dolls, we are just going to have to share space for a bit until I figure something out) is Cinderella coloured? I don’t know, I didn’t really stop to analyse it – I just bought the doll, and I’m very happy with her. 

A few weeks later, Chico, one of my doll friends who I confided in about this development, sent me a celebration gift – 


How strange that with no discussion and no particular reason why we should, we both settled on the same character! Or is it? Of course, the earlier, animated Disney version of Cinderella downplays the role of Cinderella’s birth mother, possibly because they didn’t want to bring the sadness of her death into the story. However, in older versions of the story, Cinderella’s Mother is a major theme throughout  – for instance in the Grimm Fairytale it is the spirit of Cinderella’s  Mother, in the guise of a tree watered by Cinderella’s tears, who watches over her and grants her wishes. So in some ways, the Cinderella story is all about Mothers and Mother love – an element that last year’s’ live action version, which the second doll is based on, reintroduces. In fact, in this more recent version, Cinderella’s moral code in life, “have courage and be kind”, is passed on to her by her Mother. 

On to the dolls. 


By the way, you’ll see that like so many other people, I’ve fallen prey to the charms of photo editing app Prisma – so much fun, you should try it if you haven’t already! The only downside being those big hideous watermarks at the bottom of the pictures. Think I’ll crop them out in future, I just couldn’t be bothered this time. 

Things I like about Disney Store Classic Cinderella: 

* I love what a cartoony yellow blonde she is. These days, so many dolls (especially Barbies) go for a realistic look, so there’s something charmingly different and kind of vintage about Cinderella’s yellow-blonde up do. 

* Side glance. You have to love a doll who is looking sideways under her lashes. I find that they are often the nicest ones to photograph. 

* I love all the Disney Store Classic Princess head sculpts, and this one is no exception. It’s just beautiful, and although it’s not an exact resemblance I do like the fact that it looks more like the Disney character than the more Barbue-like dolls who have gone before. 

* The whole sky-blue theme. I love this colour. Her dress is simple but pretty, and the black choker sets it off well. It works. 

On to Cinderella number two: 



Things I like about Wedding Day Cinderella: 

* She may not be as fancy-schmancy as the Disney Store version, but I think I like this Mattel version better in many ways. That face sculpt is just beautiful, it reminds me of the Grace Kelly dolls. 

* Her dress – for playline, that’s not a bad stab at Cinderella’s spectacular wedding gown, and I do like the fact that there’s so much material in her skirt. Gorgeous. 

* The details – her little flowered headpiece, her flower ring, the flowers on her shoes. Cute. 

* As with Fairy Godmother, who I posted about at the start of the year, I love how she is holding her arms and hands. It,any not be the pivotal body type that I prefer but it’s actually a lot of fun to photograph and adds to her sense of character. 

That’s it! What do you think – do you have either of these dolls, or are you tempted? 

No doubt I will continue to be sick and busy for a while yet, but I will try to post a bit more often as I’ve missed it. It just remains for me to say thanks to Chico for his very generous (and slightly spooky) present 🙂 I love her! 

16 Responses to “A Dream Is A Wish Your Heart Makes”

  1. Andrea August 14, 2016 at 12:31 am #

    You have been missed, Lea. I’m so glad the reason for your absence is such a happy one. Congratulations on becoming a mum for the second time, hugs. I hope everything goes well for you and your little princess. It’s funny that your friend chose the same character, but I think Cinderella is a very good choice for a celebration doll.

    Both dolls are beautiful, each in her own way. I love the side glancing dolls very much, so Disney Cinderella is up my alley.

    I do have the Wedding Day Cinderella and I love her. She is awesome and glueless.

    • barbielea August 14, 2016 at 7:50 pm #

      Thanks so much Andrea 🙂 Exciting times! Good to know that Wedding Day Cinderella is glueless, I’d not thought about that.

  2. D.E. August 14, 2016 at 3:51 pm #

    Congratulations on such happy news! Posting should be a joy and not a chore so no need to ever apologize. Greatly enjoyed the side-by-side comparison of Cinderellas which are quite disparate. I collect fashion dolls so have never seen them but totally agree with your assessments. The first is very charming because she’s stylized like a cartoon while I love the gown of the other and she’s elegant. Best wishes

    • barbielea August 14, 2016 at 7:46 pm #

      Thankyou so much D.E! And I’m glad you like the dolls. I think that Wedding Day Cinderella could be quite versatile redressed, especially with a more poseable body. I will try it!

  3. Chicovintage August 14, 2016 at 11:05 pm #

    What can I say? I love your blog, i felt a strange and instant (spooky?) connection with you from the very moment i started reading , and we share our love for dolls ingeneral and Lea in particular. When you told me you were expecting a baby girl, i could not be happier, and i somehow figure out you would love the real action Ella. She´s not the usual blonde bimbo, she has character even when she´s so sweet she gives you tooth decay , just like you. I,m overjoyed with the good news, thanks for your kind words

    • barbielea August 20, 2016 at 10:34 pm #

      Hugs Chico! Am I sweet??? Well, it’s very nice of you to say so! Hahaha! It was a wonderful present and yet again you obviously read my mind – thankyou xxx

  4. Blackkitty August 15, 2016 at 12:34 am #

    This is not something to apologize for! Surely we’ve missed you, but you have a really good excuse 🙂 Congratulations!

    • barbielea August 20, 2016 at 10:36 pm #

      Thanks so much Blackkitty 🙂 hope all is good with you!

  5. barbtheevilgenius August 15, 2016 at 3:01 pm #

    Congratulations on your baby-to-be! I wish you and your daughter much happiness and lots of love.

    • barbielea August 20, 2016 at 10:39 pm #

      Oh thanks so much Barb – that’s lovely of you to say 🙂

  6. sailingmartha August 15, 2016 at 4:07 pm #

    Congratulations on the new baby on the way! Cinderella is my favorite Disney princess, and I own several versions of her, including a singing one, and a live action one in the blue butterfly dress. I can never have too many Cinderellas. I hope you are feeling better soon.

    • barbielea August 20, 2016 at 10:42 pm #

      Thankyou SailingMartha!! I do feel a bit better this week actually, we soldier on 🙂 The blue butterfly dress doll is stunning, I should have got her when she was on general sale.

  7. kewpie83 August 18, 2016 at 2:03 am #

    Congrats!!!!!!!

    • barbielea August 20, 2016 at 10:43 pm #

      Thanks Kewpie! Another doll collectors daughter on the way 🙂

  8. Teresa B. August 24, 2016 at 3:17 am #

    I just read this post so I’m a little late to say CONGRATULATIONS!! How fun to share your love of dollys with your sweet girl. So exciting! 😊😊😊

  9. Sandra August 25, 2016 at 5:48 pm #

    Sitting here catching up on my posts and I see these gorgeous pics, then scroll down and…, what great news! I’m very happy for you and your family!!!

Leave a Reply

