Lea 48 – The Look 2016

14 Aug

Every time a new Lea comes out in The Look range, I am torn between joy (that we get another, that she’s still being featured) and fear (that she will be very hard to source here). Fortunately, this one was reasonably easy to find and available over here quite quickly. Snapped her up! 


I was a bit scared waiting for her to arrive as my last “The Look” doll, Sweet Tea, turned up with one eye so wonky that I’ve never even photographed her – so disappointing. But this Lea’s facial screening is fine, and she’s even prettier in the plastic than she is in photos. Of course, you have to think of SJP in the opening credits of “Sex and The City”, looking at the colour scheme and that puffy white skirt (well, if you’re my age, anyway 😉). Although her outfit is much more ladylike than that – if it wasn’t for the rather plasticky necklace, bag and earrings I’d even be tempted to say, almost Silkstone classy. Here’s some photos of her and her accessories unboxed: 



There’s a little bit of early sixties charm about her, isn’t there? Maybe it’s the bouffant hair or the “cat eyes” liner, or the little bows on her pink shoes. The only jarring note in this is the picture of her and Babs – the frame is cute, but did Barbie really have to be wearing that dress? I’d have liked to have seen them together in something a bit more elegant, I think – one of the beautiful, timeless outfits she wears on @barbiestyle on Instagram would have been good. 

Lastly, it’s always a big relief to me when a Lea turns up who is already pivotal, as that means I don’t have to make any rebodying decision. I don’t have many Model Muse pivotals so maybe I’ve just forgotten what they are like, but this one seems rather stiff and limited in her movements. The way the shoes always slip off their feet also annoys me, so you can see that I’ve left them banded on for now, although that probably won’t last as this doll is going to be wonderful to re-dress and generally play with. Overall, I think I can breathe a big sigh of relief that I found her, and she turned out to be as good as I hoped she would be.


11 Responses to “Lea 48 – The Look 2016”

  1. D.E. August 14, 2016 at 9:30 pm #

    I’m so glad you got her. This is one that really excited me for the reasons you mentioned, a mid-range pivotal Lea doll for adults. Yes, her outfit is reminiscent of SJP, but she reminds me of Melania Trump. I can’t wait to see how you redress her. Too bad there are not more The Look outfits. I have The Look Tea Party black dress which I now have on Dancing Princess Blair.
    On a different note, some Barbie Basics 2.1 pivotal dolls appeared on eBay and I was so sad I couldn’t afford the brunette. These were so reasonable when they were released. I wish Mattel would offer them again.

    • barbielea August 20, 2016 at 11:23 pm #

      Hello D.E! Yes I did, and I’m delighted with her. I think I’ll have a go at making her something soon. The Basics Pivotals – so sad. I hesitated at the time and decided to buy the Blonde Louboutin, (because I didn’t have an example of that sculpt back then – and I loved her black nail polish), telling myself I’d pick up the amazing Goddess another time. Well, by the time I went back to get her, she had quadrupled in price. I think a lot of people snapped multiple versions up for rebodying purposes, the end result being that the original dolls are quite hard to find now. Agree – it would be great to see them back on the market, but in the meantime at least The Look dolls aren’t ridiculously priced.

  2. Catherine August 14, 2016 at 11:39 pm #

    I’m glad you are enjoying her. She is very pretty. Is her sweater a leotard? Love the shoes!

    • barbielea August 20, 2016 at 10:35 pm #

      Thanks Catherine! No, I presumed the same thing about her sweater, but it isn’t, it’s just a normal top tucked into her skirt.

  3. Taswegian1957 August 15, 2016 at 7:22 am #

    I have my eye on this one as well. I can’t buy her locally so it will either be eBay or more likely Amazon if they have a price reduction on her to offset the cost of postage. Glad to hear she is as nice as she looks.

    • barbielea August 20, 2016 at 10:38 pm #

      Yes, it’s a shame they don’t have these in shops worldwide Taswegian :-/ I think since they trialled it with the Basics (who ended up on permanent sale here) and now they are loathe to do it. Makes us none-Americans work a little bit harder, doesn’t it? Grrr …

  4. Andrea August 17, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

    She is absolutely awesome. I like her outfit and especially her cute shoes. You are right about the picture in the frame. Compared to Lea Barbie looks like a poor relative in that dress.

    Being a Lea and already on a pivotal body makes her highly desirable for me too. I hope you don’t mind me asking what’s going on inside her head. Is she glue free?

    • barbielea August 20, 2016 at 10:40 pm #

      Hi Andrea! I’ve not investigated too much – no head removal, and I’ve left her hair in its original style – but as far as I can tell it’s all good. Her hair isn’t greasy at all. Let’s just hope it doesn’t seep out later 😱

  5. plasticallyperfect November 16, 2016 at 7:12 pm #

    I love her outfit, especially the skirt and the shoes – I may have to order this doll for that alone. Agreed on barbie jewelry, but I’ve found some cute earrings for my doll at Glitter – they’re much more realistic (obviously, they’re for people), and they’re small enough to not look silly. I just had my doll in a pair on Monday.

    • barbielea January 13, 2017 at 11:46 pm #

      Hi Plastcallyperfect! Sorry for late reply :-/ listen, you may know about this already but I read that if you use real earrings on dolls, treating the posts with clear nail varnish can prevent them from making the dolls’ ears discolour. Hope useful and thanks for commenting 🙂

      • plasticallyperfect January 19, 2017 at 9:01 pm #

        Thank you very much. I’ve been using real earrings and just taking them out after taking pictures. I just think they look so much better than the plastic things.

Leave a Reply

