Ghost of Christmas Presents 2015 (Yes, 2015!!) Holiday Barbie 2006 

30 Dec

Hello all, I hope you had a great Christmas! Perhaps I should subtitle this post “Confessions about a Doll Collectors Daughter”?? Yes, my baby girl is here and nearing her third month, and as you can imagine, time is a scarce commodity right now. The day before yesterday (or maybe the day before that, I lose track) I managed to take a few snaps of my beautiful 2006 AA Holiday doll, which I have kept in the box since I received her last year, so I thought I’d use this as an opportunity to write a quick post. 

As you can see, mine is the AA version with the Goddess face and I think that overall, she must be one of my very favourite holiday dolls. I love her velvet Christmas tree inspired dress, which is very typically Bob Mackie, and (unusually for me, as I’m not the world’s biggest fan of earrings in dolls) I love her sparkly star earrings, which give her a nice sense of movement in photos. There’s only two downsides to this doll as far as I’m concerned and the first thing isn’t really a downside at all, just a meter of bad timing. You see, I think she deserves a pivotal body but she is too dark to be a good colour match for Nicki or the AA Made To Move – I’d need to get hold of a pivotal So In Style (I’ve not checked it but off the top of my head I’m thinking Kara) and they are like hen’s teeth in my country now. Well, never mind, I find that if you just sit tight for long enough an answer will present itself. Number two – wonky eyes. Like my Princess of Greece (also a Goddess, I wonder if this is a common Goddess problem that I’ve just never noticed before?) she didn’t look particularly wonky in the box but when you get her out and move her around a bit, it becomes more apparent. Such a shame, but not a dealbreaker, as she still looks OK from most angles. 

12 Responses to “Ghost of Christmas Presents 2015 (Yes, 2015!!) Holiday Barbie 2006 ”

  1. Yvette C. December 30, 2016 at 7:04 pm #

    Welcome back! I’ve missed your posts. Congratulations on your new baby daughter! Beautiful holiday doll, although I agree, a pivotal body would be nice.

    • barbielea January 13, 2017 at 11:50 pm #

      Thanks very much Yvette 🙂 and apologies for the late reply! Please put it down to “Mummy brain” and not intentional rudeness! Best wishes

  2. Neytiri December 30, 2016 at 7:42 pm #

    Beautiful ❤ I love her dress.

    • barbielea December 31, 2016 at 10:19 pm #

      Me too Neytiri 🙂 thanks

  3. Bambuc December 30, 2016 at 9:46 pm #

    Love it! She’s beautiful!

    • barbielea December 31, 2016 at 10:20 pm #

      She is Bambuc! I never met a Goddess I didn’t like …

  4. barbtheevilgenius December 31, 2016 at 9:09 pm #

    Happy New Year! Glad things are going well for you.

    • barbielea December 31, 2016 at 10:20 pm #

      Thanks Barb, straight back atcha!! Best wishes X

  5. Andrea January 3, 2017 at 11:36 am #

    Belated Happy New Year! Enjoy your little bundle of joy, they grow so fast.

    Holiday Barbie looks awesome. Maybe ist’s just the glitter around her eyes that causes the wonky eye impression.

    • barbielea January 13, 2017 at 11:52 pm #

      Thankyou so much Andrea, I hope 2017 is being good to you! I wondered about the same thing with the glitter, but after much consideration I’m pretty sure that the inner corner of one eye is higher than the other, it’s not so bad, though – poor old Princess of Greece has it worse :-/

  6. Teresa Brown January 10, 2017 at 6:17 pm #

    Good to see you back and to hear you and baby girl are doing well! I love this doll and she is one of my favorites. I love the AA version! So regal and pretty!

    • barbielea January 13, 2017 at 11:56 pm #

      Thanks very much Theresa! I’m not back as much as I’d like to be 🙂 but it is nice to knock out a post or two when I have the chance, I miss it when I’m away!

      Yes, the Goddess face is very Queenly. No wonder she’s such a frequently-used sculpt in the collector lines.

Leave a Reply

