Lea 49 – Best Models On Location: Monte Carlo 

22 Jan

I probably should have saved this Lea for the next Lea post (my 50th!). Every Lea is special,as far as I am concerned, but Monte Carlo is especially special – she’s rare, classy, collector-level, sought-after and beautiful. Getting hold of her had been on my to-do list for years when I stumbled across her for a good price, out of the box but mint and with all her outfits and accessories.

Isn’t she gorgeous? I have thought long and hard about rebodying her, as I always seem to get more use out of my rebodied dolls. I decided against it in the end for two reasons. Firstly, her hands have nails with a french manicure: 


Which is a really nice touch. Second, if I rebodied her most of her clothes wouldn’t fit any more, and the clothes are really what this doll is all about. 

This Lea, released in 2006, is designed to showcase a series of outfits and accessories which suit the “Monte Carlo” theme, and they really are beautiful. In fact, this has been a reminder for me about just how good doll clothes can be. I spend much of my time on playline and I don’t collect vintage so it’s easy for me to forget how different quality items are, as I don’t see many of them. The attention to detail and the realism are wonderful. 

There’s just a wealth of stuff that comes with her. Three bags!! Plus two pairs of shoes, a pair of stockings, a necklace, a scarf, a belt, and a compact and a swimsuit. Added to these are the two main outfits – I enlisted Fan Bingbing to help model them:

The only downside to this set is the time and effort it takes to get a doll into any of these clothes. Playline may be cheap and cheerful, but at least it’s made with small, impatient hands (even smaller and more impatient than mine) in mind – these clothes are more like a logic puzzle, or maybe an endurance test. Still, both in terms of the clothes and in terms of the long-antipicated purchase, this time around it certainly seems to be a case of “good things to those who wait”. She was worth it. 



10 Responses to “Lea 49 – Best Models On Location: Monte Carlo ”

  1. Blackkitty January 23, 2017 at 8:59 am #

    This is one of the best Leas, congratulations!

    • barbielea February 28, 2017 at 8:02 pm #

      Thanks Blackkitty, I’m delighted to have her!

  2. Andrea January 24, 2017 at 12:31 am #

    Congrats, she is totally awesome. These clothes are gorgeous, so many details to adore. I wish they would make them like this again, at least for collector level dolls.

    • barbielea February 28, 2017 at 8:04 pm #

      Hi Andrea. I know! I haven’t seen many dolls with clothes this spectacular. That might just be because I don’t do much high-level collecting, but honestly I do think they’re amazing! Wouldn’t it be great to get clothes like this released as sets in their own right?

  3. Teresa Brown January 27, 2017 at 7:14 pm #

    She is absolutely beautiful! I love the French manicure. The clothes are stunning. I love everything about this doll!

    • barbielea February 28, 2017 at 8:06 pm #

      Me too Teresa! As I said, she’s just hard work to dress – but totally worth it 🙂

  4. barbtheevilgenius January 30, 2017 at 5:35 am #

    What a great addition to a collection! I love her fingernails, and her three bags!

    • barbielea February 28, 2017 at 8:07 pm #

      Hi Barb! I know, three bags – such opulence lol 🙂

  5. Chicovintage March 10, 2017 at 9:54 am #

    I LOVE her! one of my faves, for sure. Be really careful with the lovely blue blouse, it will stain your doll in hours!

    • barbielea March 11, 2017 at 9:11 pm #

      Hello Chico, so nice to hear from you! I am so pleased to have found her, I feel very lucky. I got very nervous after reading that comment as I was worried it may have stained my beautiful Fan Bingbing but I checked and she’s OK – phew!! Xx

Leave a Reply

