Adventures in Rebodying – Lily Truscott

17 Feb

Recently, having obtained the sealant of my dreams, I have started to think about repainting the early faceups I made such a terrible mess of. I got as far as searching for them in my “needs work” drawer before I was distracted by Lily Truscott, who I found in a charity shop a year or so ago. Lily is a character from Hannah Montana, and is noteworthy for her use of the Diva face sculpt with a painted-on open mouth. She also has beautiful colouring – blue eyes and beachy-blonde hair. Unlike many Hannah Montana/ High School Musical dolls, she’s not particularly easy to find, either, so I was glad to have her. 

Now, I’m not the biggest fan of HSM style bodies, which are kind of like the late 80s/ early 90s Skipper bodies only taller and very slightly more mature. In this case, though, it was a done deal that I would have to rebody her because her poor little hands had been chewed completely flat. As she has a mature-ish face anyway, I decided to try her on a LIV body and I wasn’t disappointed (although the Skipper I’d been saving it for probably wasn’t very impressed).


I think it’s a good size for her and a good colour match, the downside being that I would have to deal with those big clumsy LIV hands. I gave them some nail varnish and rings to try and make them more acceptable, but the jury’s still out on whether that helped very much: 


Maybe a bit. Anyhoo, as you can see, I dressed her in some Barbie Petite clothes which are a good fit on these bodies. I do have some really nice LIV clothes somewhere – maybe I’ll use those when I photograph The Petites … I also dug out one of my previously featured Leas, Camp Rock Tess, because I did the same body switch (HSM to LIV) with her, and I thought they’d be like two petite peas in a pod. 

11 Responses to “Adventures in Rebodying – Lily Truscott”

  1. wendydirks February 17, 2017 at 3:42 pm #

    Great job! They look fantastic!

  2. Pamela McKirdy February 17, 2017 at 8:43 pm #

    Your photography, as always, is beautiful.

    • barbielea February 28, 2017 at 7:54 pm #

      Thankyou Pamela – my style of pics are an acquired taste I think, I’m really glad you like them!

  3. Kerri Barker February 18, 2017 at 12:02 am #

    I collect Diva (Midge) so I was thrilled that you featured the Lily Truscott doll! Wonderful job, by the way – she’s a stunner!

    • barbielea February 28, 2017 at 7:56 pm #

      Hello Kerri – 8 have a small Diva collection myself and am always on the lookout for more. Such a beautiful sculpt, and these “teen Divas” are so unusual – I did a post about the pink-haired version that sings a while ago too. Thanks very much 🙂

  4. Andrea February 19, 2017 at 3:26 am #

    Lily is a cutie and I bet she is very happy with her new body. Actually I do think that the nail polish does mature the look of the LIV hands.

    • barbielea February 28, 2017 at 7:57 pm #

      Do you like, Andrea? I might re-do the hands of some of my other LIV rebodies too, I think. It can’t make them worse, anyway 😬 🙂

  5. Sandra Bernal February 21, 2017 at 11:48 pm #

    That Tess doll is so pretty. I don’t think I ever bought a Liv doll but those bodies were ahead of their time!! They really work well with these girls!! Well done!

    • barbielea February 28, 2017 at 7:59 pm #

      Hi Sandra! Yes, the LIV dolls had GREAT pivotal bodies, far better than Barbie Fashionistas in terms of poseability, but the hands were always a problem – they also have quite broad shoulders and narrow hips. But on the right doll, I do think they can look good. Thanks! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lea 51 and Friends  | barbiebeauties - April 17, 2017

    […] last of my series of holiday snap posts features three dolls. Firstly, there is Lily, a Hannah Montanah doll who I cleaned up and rebodied […]

Leave a Reply

