Fake Bake Barbie 

28 Feb


OK, she’s actually called “Double Denim”, but I dare you to look at her without recalling that time in the mid noughties when everybody was obsessed with orange fake tan. I know that Mattel are rather proud of the diversity of skin types to be found in the modern Barbie ranges (as they should be) but I think this might be one that they prefer to forget … 

Only joking, I actually adore this doll, orangeness and all. It’s not like me to fall for a tanned, white-blonde, generic-faced doll but I have. I love her, and so she gets a post to herself. 

Things I like: 

* If you ask me, the modern Fashionista line hasn’t always got colour schemes right (I still haven’t forgiven them for Chambray Chic’s dress). But I love the cool, pale colour palette of Double Denim, finished off with those black skyscraper stilettos that give the outfit a modern feel.  

* New face sculpt!! This sculpt (currently described by sculpt guru Katti as “closed mouth Millie”, although she does point out that an official name hasn’t been released yet) has been made famous by its use on Mattel’s Instagram account, @barbiestyle. Millie looks GREAT with a half-smile, and I can’t wait to see further releases – could she be the modern Mackie, perhaps? She shares this sculpt with the very lovely (and less orange) Made to Move Martial Artist, who I am really looking forward to now. 

* Her Khaleesi hair and brows. Thick dark brows with silver-blonde hair is a good look, and it gives her an interesting twist that lifts her above the generic. Also, I might be imagining it but when I looked at her in the sunlight today it seemed as though her hair might be comprised of two colours of nylon, silver and light blonde, which is a nice touch.

Things I’m not so keen on: 

* I know I say it every time, but Mattel need to GIVE US PIVOTAL FASHIONISTAS AGAIN. It annoys me that these dolls could be pretty much perfect, if only you could pose them better. 

* Her rooting is really thin and you can see the holes in her scalp through her hair unless its fluffed up, as if she was an old, played-with doll. That’s not great, is it? 

* Her eyes. I can deal with “cartoony” but the blue-eyed Fashionistas are super-cartoony – it’s too much, I think. Also, I like dolls with big eyes as a rule but these are a bit too big, she’d look better if they were more realistically scaled.

7 Responses to “Fake Bake Barbie ”

  1. wendydirks March 1, 2017 at 12:42 am #

    Interesting! On my monitor she doesn’t look particularly orange or covered in fake tan. The one that looks dreadful, to my mind, is the MTM doll with the coral top and blonde hair. I bought her to rebody the tall Fashionista “Leather and Ruffles.” I have been looking at this doll and debating whether to buy her or not. I quite like her so thanks for reviewing her!

    • barbielea March 1, 2017 at 9:00 am #

      Hi Wendy! I must admit that I usually filter my pictures a bit colder than they are in RL, I tried to avoid that so I could show her actual colour but I just can’t help myself … When you see her in the plastic you’ll see what I mean 🙂 I’ve used that M2M for rebodying, I didn’t like her original version much either.

  2. Taswegian1957 March 1, 2017 at 9:47 am #

    She doesn’t look that orange to me either. The most orange Barbie I ever had was California Girl Barbie from 2004. I moved her on in the end because she just looked so wrong to me. This one does look quite retro and I like the pale hair and the half smile. The arms are a pain in the you know where of course. I can’t explain what it is about the current playline expressions that bothers me but it is like they are looking at nothing. I’ll reserve judgement on this one until I see her in person.

    • barbielea March 8, 2017 at 9:26 am #

      Hi Taswegian 🙂 Cali Girl Barbie is a bit on the orange side – I think she matches a Nicki body, though, so it might just be the combination of her hair/ makeup/ jewellery that makes her look so dayglo. I know what you mean about the current expressions, that’s kind of what I was getting at when I said she is a bit too cartoony around the eyes. I prefer the more sophisticated, expressive eyes on the Fashion Fever dolls myself.

      • Taswegian1957 March 8, 2017 at 10:05 pm #

        They were such pretty dolls for playline. I wish they had kept using those faces.

  3. Andrea March 5, 2017 at 1:05 am #

    She is a pretty doll and I like her face. She was pretty enough to get a visa for my United Dolldom. She is more orange in person, though. I can live with that.

    • barbielea March 8, 2017 at 9:29 am #

      Me too Andrea! I think it’s a great sculpt and I’m very interested to see future versions of her.

Leave a Reply

