Lea 50 – That Foxy Rae 

11 Mar

So, I thought long and hard about what doll I could post about for my 50th Lea post – I wanted it to be special (ALL Leas are special, but you know, extra specially special). So I decided on my first custom Lea, rerooted and repainted by the wonderful That Foxy Bisssh, otherwise known as Constantinos Kalaitzis (find him on Instagram: @thatfoxybisssh). I’ve followed his work and admired his repaints for a long time, so I was so pleased when he set up an Etsy shop (here) and I knew it would just be a matter of time before I made a purchase. 

Actually, it was Mr Bat who made the purchase. Rae was one of my Christmas presents this year (he might have been gently nudged in the right direction though). Today, I rebodied her onto a Made To Move Lea and I think she looks just right. Here she is: 


I’ve done a few (mostly dodgy) repaints myself, but I never bought anybody else’s repainted dolls before. For starters, they are usually beyond my budget. For seconds, I love to look at detailed, photo-realistic repaints but I’m not usually interested in buying them, because it’s hard to mix them in with Mattel-painted dolls and have them look right. I kind of like my Barbies to look like Barbies, you know? For me, Con’s customs get the balance just right – his repaints are stylised and can sit on the shelf next to Mattel dolls without looking odd, but they are beautiful and original with a distinctive style of their own. 

I love her hair, too, which kind of feels like embroidery thread. I particularly like how easy it is to style her in all kinds of crazy fun ways: 

I’m so glad that we snapped her up when we did, she photographs like a dream and I’m impressed with the quality of this repaint. So impressed, in fact, that I’ve just ordered another Foxy Lady. I highly recommend having a look around Con’s shop, his prices are reasonable and he has some great dolls in stock. 

4 Responses to “Lea 50 – That Foxy Rae ”

  1. Andrea March 16, 2017 at 1:27 am #

    Her eyes are amazing, great nudging job. I’m partial on the floss hair, but the repaint looks awesome.

    • barbielea March 22, 2017 at 2:46 pm #

      Hi Andrea! Glad you like her. I love the expression he gives his dolls, thet have so much character.

  2. CuriousRetroRebel March 16, 2017 at 4:32 pm #

    Love your blog! Reading it I think I am around your age. I came on the scene in the mid ’70’s.
    This Lea’s expression and the color screening of her new face paint and hair makes me think of Sofia Coppola’s Marie Antoinette.
    I love her hair as I got an anime Skipper back when she was very new, I think it was Skipper Babysits as I remember her outfit which was a pink and white and orange dotted halter top and mini-skirt and 1980’s neon pink flats. Anyways I got mine used with fried hair and me not knowing how to get new doll hair so I gave her a yarn re-root with blondish yarn that looked like crimped hair when it was unwound. It was awesome to the max. Perhaps I should get some yarn. I have some black dolls who would look great with corn rows.

    • barbielea March 22, 2017 at 2:44 pm #

      Thankyou so much CRR! I am glad you enjoyed the blog, and yes I think we are about the same age 🙂 Rae would actually look great in some kind of nouveau Marie Antoinette, Vivienne Westwoody affair – I’ll add it to the project pile, sigh. Yarn reroots sem to be very popular right now, I don’t know if they’re quicker to do (because I never tried) but the materials are certainly more readily available than doll nylon, maybe that’s why. Yes, I think it does look particularly good on black dolls too, and I like the idea of unravelling the yarn a bit to give a more textured look. I bet your Skipper looked great, I love Skippers from that era myself and have the pink polka-dot version somewhere, she always reminds me of Dolly Parton …

Leave a Reply

