Mother’s Day – DC Superhero Girls 

27 Mar

Yesterday for Mother’s Day I received two dolls – DC Superhero Girls Wonderwoman from my daughter, and Supergirl from my son (both via Mr Bat, of course 😀). I already have another DC Girl who I got for Christmas and STILL haven’t posted about, so I’ll have to come back to her another time. 

Before I start: I am vaguely aware that these dolls are based on a cartoon but after my frankly disappointing experience with the Monster High movies, I’ve not bothered looking them up. If anybody has seen the Superhero Girls in action and has feedback they would like to share, please do leave a comment. 

These dolls are probably not for everyone; with their simple sculpts and primary colours, they are very playline. However, they have struck a chord with some collectors, and I am one of them. I really like them. There’s at least one more I plan to get, and I will be keeping an eye out for future releases with great interest (fingers crossed for Catwoman!!)

So, what’s to like? The main thing for me with these dolls is how substantial they are. They are slightly taller than a Barbie or a Monster High doll, with thicker, more muscly limbs. They are also fully poseable (there are other, less poseable, always-dressed versions too though). They even have a torso joint. Here’s a body comparison (if you’re naked doll averse, best look away now): 

(Apologies for the great big head shadow, by the way, hopefully you can still see the bodies well enough). As you can see, Supergirl has arms that are rather like a Made To Move Barbie’s, but more muscular. She has pronounced forearm muscles, although her upper arms are a little weedier than you might have expected (maybe to ensure you can get her clothes on.smoothly). Her hands detach at the wrist like a MH doll. Her legs are even longer than a MH doll’s but much thicker, and her torso is has the MH/ EAH “pear”shape, widening to about the same width as Barbie at the hip. I am so pleased that they have even more joints than Monster High dolls – its fitting that active characters are flexible and poseable. Both also have hands designed to actually hold things (like Womderwoman’s lasso) which is another nice touch.

I was interested in the DC doll feet. As you’ll see later, these dolls come with some pretty cute shoes of their own but its always handy to know who they can share with. Their feet resemble Monster High feet, but standard MH shoes are much too small. I did have some success with Nefara’s open-toed sandals. However the slope of the DC Girl foot is shallower than that of a Monster, so I’m betting that closed shoes wouldn’t work at all. Even with the sandals, the heel is at the wrong angle so the doll would no longer stand unsupported while wearing them, which she does quite nicely in her own shoes. 

Clothes-wise, should you wish to re-dress your doll, a mix and match approach might work best. Barbie skirts (but not pants, unless they are very stretchy) will fit – some tops might work well, but a lot will be too wide. Monster High clothes are probably not going to work, though, even “big sister” size. Nefara’s dress didn’t even pull up over Supergirl’s preciously chunky thighs: 

I also actually really like their faces. Yes, they are cartoony but as they are based on cartoon characters I’m fine with this. I like Wonderwoman’s slightly upturned eyes better as I think that Supergirl looks slightly manic from some angles with her full-on stare, but honestly, they’re both cute. 

Outfit-wise, both are pretty simply dressed in a version of their standard costumes. I was interested to note that Supergirl’s dress is a little longer than I remember it being in my youth, and Wonderwoman now wears leggings over her superhero swimsuit. I am guessing that the designers were briefed against making the costumes too sexy, given how newsworthy the idea of dolls as role models has been over the last decade or so – no point attracting the wrong kind of attention, is there? I am a bit disappointed that Wonderwoman’s headband is only tagged to her head and couldn’t be reattached once removed. Similarly, once the bands are removed, Supergirl’s headband just rests on her hair. I’m also a little puzzled by the following – Supergirl’s costume does not include underpants, either built-in or separate, but Wonderwoman does have her swimsuit on under her leggings. Why??? Supergirl does have the standard molded-on flesh coloured knickers, but I just feel like she really needs the fabric ones more than Wonderwoman does. Flying girl + skirt + no underpants/ flesh-coloured underpants = potentially huge embarrassment.

What I do like about the costumes is the way the accessories have been integrated. Supergirl’s cape, for instance, which is plastic (allowing it to keep its nice, rippling-in-the-wind look) attaches to her necklace which is in turn sewn into the collar of her dress: 

Ok, why the designers have shown such an interest in making sure the cape is reattachable and that the pieces to make it so are not lost, but not in making sure that headgear is reattachable, I have no idea. But its pretty ingenious. Similarly, Wonderwoman is holding her lasso in the box: 

But if you look to the right-hand side of her belt there’s actually a place to attach it when she’s not using it! *round of applause for whoever thought of this*. 

Next – shoes. I do love doll shoes in general, but the DC Superhero Girls have particularly cute ones. First, Supergirl’s high baseball boots:

So cute! And at first I took it for granted that those socks would just be “tubes” around her lower leg for show, but no: 

Real socks awww!! Next, Wonderwoman: 

I love the shape of them and the little Wonderwoman “wing” at the top. Note as well – no more running in heels for this Superhero 😀 I’m sure that’s a big relief for her after all these years …

Well, that’s it, apart from my closing photos. Do you have any DC Superhero dolls yet and if not, are you tempted? Or are there other Superhero dolls that you prefer? Let me know. And all you Superheroes, whether you were being a Mum or not yesterday, I hope you had a good one x 

12 Responses to “Mother’s Day – DC Superhero Girls ”

  1. Holly March 27, 2017 at 11:56 am #

    These are super cute! (Get it… Super??) I haven’t seen these yet but I hope I do get a chance to look at them irl. I know it’s not the newest thing in the world, but it’s awesome they’re making more superhero stuff for girls nowadays.

    • barbielea March 28, 2017 at 3:57 pm #

      Hi Holly 🙂 I agree, its an old idea but it suits the current mood … Barbie did try to bring it back with the Superhero themed dolls, was that last year or the year before?? But they weren’t poseable (which action figures really should be) and they didn’t have the advantage of being already recogniseable characters. Hope you like them as much when you get sight of them 🙂

  2. CuriousRetroRebel March 27, 2017 at 11:54 pm #

    I agree with Holly. I remember wondering why I got a Mego 12 inch AF Superman when his movie came out back in ’81 but when Super Girl’s movie with Faye Dunaway as the villainess came out in ’84 there was no Super Girl Doll. Although I remember a Friends older sister having an 8 inch Mego Super Girl from the 70’s what was jointed and pretty cool.

    • barbielea March 28, 2017 at 4:01 pm #

      Hi CRR. And you would have thought Supergirl would have been a perfect Mego doll, how strange! Never seen the Superman, I shall look him up. There was a Mego Wonderwoman, though – she was lovely 🙂

  3. sailingmartha March 28, 2017 at 6:50 pm #

    Nice photos! Happy Mother’s Day! I have Wonder Woman and Bumblebee out of this set, and I do like both very much. It’s nice that they can balance on their feet without a stand.

    • barbielea April 15, 2017 at 8:42 am #

      Thankyou Sailingmartha! Bumblebee is so cute 🙂 but as she isn’t a character I knew before and I don’t watch the cartoon, I’m probably going to give her a miss. I also like the fact that she can stand alone – more dolls should be able to do this.

  4. barbtheevilgenius March 29, 2017 at 2:24 am #

    My niece has some of these dolls and enjoys playing with them. She doesn’t know it yet, but I got a good deal on Wonder Woman’s invisible jet, so she’s getting that for her birthday.

    I would have liked the Starfire doll if she looked more like the one from Teen Titans. I don’t like the coloring of the actual doll at all.

    • barbielea April 15, 2017 at 8:46 am #

      Hi Barb 🙂 I’ve seen the invisible jet, so cool! I hope your niece enjoys it (how could she not?). We love Teen Titans too! I wonder if there are Teen Titans figures or dolls? Never looked, I’ll have a mooch later ….

  5. Andrea April 14, 2017 at 12:02 am #

    I like the Wonderwoman doll. The Snow White effect always catches my attention, even though she seems not to be very pale..

    • barbielea April 15, 2017 at 8:50 am #

      Hi Andrea! No, she isn’t very pale really, but I think the blue streaks in her hair make her look paler than she is actually is. She’s absolutely lovely, the first one I looked at from this line.

  6. Teresa B. April 23, 2017 at 6:09 am #

    Glad you enjoyed your mother’s day. You got some awesome gifts! I like the DC Superhero Girls for the same reasons, they are refreshingly simple, I like the cartoony look personally. Sucks we can’t find some doner clothes though. They are super cute though in their original outfits.

    • barbielea April 29, 2017 at 10:47 pm #

      Oh thankyou Teresa! I do think there are a few Barbie clothes thatcould be made to work. I’m really not in a sewing mood right now, but I have seen these dolls re-dressed in some really cute handmade outfits too – worth bearing in mind 🙂

Leave a Reply

