Curvies Again

29 Apr

I have considered numbering the Curvy posts like I do with the Skippers, the Sindys and of course the Leas, but 1). Even I think the numbering is getting a bit much now, 2). The fashionistas already come with numbers, so it seems like overkill, and 3). I should have posted them one by one from the start if I wanted to do that. So instead, you’re just going to have to put up with great titles like “More Curvies” forever – because Curvies are definitely sticking around for the forseeable future, and I am definitely going to keep buying them. You may have seen that Curvies (and Talls, and Petites) have found their way into the “I Can Be” (Barbie Careers) lines. I have high hopes that we might see our first Curvy fairy before too long, how adorable would that be? 
Anyhoo, my two ladies tonight are probably my favourite Curvies so far – number 51: Polka Dot Fun, and number 48: Daisy Pop. Both use the “curvy” face sculpt that was introduced at the same time as the new bodies. I do love this face but I am also glad to see that the upcoming batch of Fashionistas use some different sculpts on curvy bodies too. One day, we might even see a Curvy Lea (pleeease??) 

And, while I am fond of their cheap and cheerful yet eyecatching outfits, I also spend a lot of time looking at them in these outfits online, so I tried a little re-dress: 

10 Responses to “Curvies Again”

  1. CuriousRetroRebel April 30, 2017 at 1:38 am #

    I like petite and tall. I did get one curvy though. Still, I am more into petite, especially since I was finally able to re-body my Rocker Dee Dee onto a body that she looks good on and that the skintones of the head and body match. Plus she can wear Sparkle Girlz clothes and lot of that looks very eighties so I feel like I have died and gone to doll heaven. Huzzah!!!

    • barbielea May 2, 2017 at 10:12 pm #

      Hello CRR, yes it is nice that the petites fit in Sparkle Girlz clothes. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve set out to post about my petites so far and failed! Must get it together! (I have another on the way too). What body your Rocker Deedee go onto?

      • CuriousRetroRebel May 3, 2017 at 11:30 pm #

        One of the Fashion Pack Fashionista’s, that was sold in a pack with two fashions. The petite’s original head had the Grace mold with pink hair on one side and blue on the other. She has the perfect skin tone for a lot of the AA dolls.

        I’ll be looking forward to your petite post. I can understand the difficulty of posting all to well seeing as I haven’t blogged at all. Still I hope to see it soon.

  2. Andrea April 30, 2017 at 3:45 am #

    Those two have been the first of this Fashionista batch to show up on doll shelves in our stores and of course I took them home, when I spotted them. Who could resist The pink hair of Daisy Pop and the Snow White effect of Polka Dot Fun? I think Polka Dot could be a cute little sister for one of the fair skinned Leas.

    • barbielea May 2, 2017 at 10:14 pm #

      Hi Andrea 🙂 yes, Lea and Polka Dor would be a good pair, if I could find a Lea with the right head size and faceup. I will look into this – thanks!

  3. Holly April 30, 2017 at 11:24 am #

    Ugh, I cannot wait until the new Fashionistas hurry up and arrive to my city -seeing all these gorgeous daisy pop photos is making me jealous AF. Also, that brown jacket is so cute. 🙂

    • barbielea May 2, 2017 at 10:17 pm #

      I can relate Holly. Usually I am seeing dolls on other blogs and Insta posts for months before they hit the shelves here – if they ever do. However, fashionista distribution has been pretty good, and comparatively fast. I’m waiting for the next batch now! Where will it end??? 😝 ps. Not sure who that jacket belonged to (paging Andrea!!) But it is one of my dolls’ favourites.

      • Andrea May 4, 2017 at 2:07 pm #

        Your dolls have very good taste. The jacket is a part of a 2003 Fashion Avenue Set # B8251 with floral bell bottom pants, an aqua top, a brown fabric handbag and brown platform Mary Janes.

  4. Blackkitty April 30, 2017 at 11:32 am #

    I almost bought Polka Dot Fun but we picked another doll, a tall one, instead. She’s my favourite of the Curvies though.

    • barbielea May 2, 2017 at 10:19 pm #

      Hi Blackkitty 🙂 I do love this face sculpt so its hard for me to pick a favourite! But if pushed, I’d agree – this one and/ or Spring Into Style …

Leave a Reply

