Frightfully Tall Draculaura 

2 May

Since I read somewhere that the Frightfully Tall dolls have been spotted in some discount shops in the UK I have been on the lookout, and I finally found them last week: 

At £20 (well, you know, £19.99) they are still not awfully cheap, but considering that the last time I checked they were still going for £50 – £60 on Amazon/ eBay in this country, I don’t suppose I can grumble. 

Why Draculaura? To be honest, I don’t know. My default Monster High has always been Frankie but when push came to shove, I impulse grabbed Lala. It was only when I got her home that I noticed her slightly wonky eye. I do think that although most of the time eye wonk is a pain in the arse, now and again it gives a doll an adorable unique expression. Maybe that’s why I picked her. 

Another thing: Draculaura is 17 inches of gorgeousness and I have a bad history with bigger-than-Barbie dolls. I have two beautiful Gene Marshalls who never see the light of day, and at least six Moxie Teenz who do not get the attention they deserve. I struggle to think about getting rid of these dolls who are all wonderful, but they also make me feel guilty. Now I might have added to that problem, I suppose. Time will tell. Right now, the bigger size is a novelty. I love how chunky and weighty she feels, and of course she poses as nicely as a regular Monster High doll.

So: just in case you are thinking of indulging, here’s a little look at how she is made up: 

Her elbows (and her knees) have hinges that look more like a Made To Move doll than a Monster. Mine are a little stiff and take a little bit of coaxing – there is also a couple of burrs on the plastic of the elbow joints which I will need to file down some time (how sad that quality control issues are evident with these dolls as well as their smaller sisters). One nice thing here, though – when I undressed her I realised that in addition to joints in all the normal places she does have a torso joint. She also has removable hands for ease of dress/ undress. 

I had been told that these dolls could wear some Barbie clothes, but none of the standard-size outfits I tried on her would go over her hips: 

However, I did manage to squeeze her into a Curvy dress (Polka Dot Fun, from the last post). I couldn’t move her legs in this outfit, though, so I’m thinking next time I’ll try something loose at the bottom, like Chambray Chic’s dress. 

One last thing – I think I’m going to have to restyle her hair. She has a lot of hair gunk some of which might turn out to be glue seepage – if that’s the case I will be tempted to just reroot her. That would be a fun project, but I have too many reroots queued up already so I’ll try a rescue mission first. I also think her pigtails need to sit higher and they could do with some shape, as they just kind of hang straight, and they do have some kinks from the box which will need to go. 

Whay do you think? Are you tempted – do you have one? Let me know in the comments. 

6 Responses to “Frightfully Tall Draculaura ”

  1. holeinyoursoul May 3, 2017 at 9:50 pm #

    This year I’ve suddenly had a hankering for larger scale dolls after years of never being interested and have adopted a Dollfie Dream. Although the Monster Highs aren’t as tall as that I might be very tempted by a Frankie if I see one. We’re off to Wales again where the discount shop in Barmouth sometimes has some surprising doll offers… I think a pop in there might be in order!

    • barbielea May 19, 2017 at 7:06 pm #

      Hi Holeinyoursoul! Oooh, a Dolfie – very classy. Actually, I have noticed a few BJD collectors I follow on social media have purchased one of these so their appeal seems to work the other way around too. I know i’m a bit late in leaving my reply here, so hopefully you have already found your big Draculaura. If not, try B&M. Our local still has some Frightfully Tall Ghouls in stock. Enjoy 🙂

  2. CuriousRetroRebel May 3, 2017 at 11:44 pm #

    I got a Moxie Teen, but I sold her on. Reminded me of growing up with Darci and Jem and the hassle of finding clothes to fit them.

    Still, I can see the attraction of this doll. She has a very 90’s Goth look about her. Takes me back to my own gothic youth. A lot of Monster Highs do that. I’ll be in the store and I will stop and stare. What is holding me back if finding clothes for them. I am too much of a penny pincer.

    • barbielea May 19, 2017 at 7:16 pm #

      I know, CRR – my poor Moxies are clothing-deprived too. I did have fancy ideas about making stuff for them but seeing as I average about four outfits a year across my entire collection, that was probably a bit optimistic.

      I too was a Goth in the 90s 🙂 I believe I wrote a Monster High post about that somewhere around here. The Monster Highs are more Emo/ spooky kid/ whatever they are called now (old person alert) than what we used to wear, don’t you think?

      RE: Frightfully Tall clothes: if you’re a Sindy fan, I have recently found that some Sindy clothes fit – not the way they fit Sindy, but they still look pretty cute. Sindy had good togs!

  3. Andrea May 4, 2017 at 2:19 pm #

    I was so determined not buying any of the tall ones, at least until Frightfully Tall Elissabat smiled at me. She is the only one so far, but who knows what happens when the price is low enough. 😆

    She is adorable and I am very impressed that you managed to wriggle her into Polka Dot Fun’s dress.

    • barbielea May 19, 2017 at 7:19 pm #

      Hello Andrea 🙂 yes, I have seen the Elissabat, she’s beautiful!

      It was a close call with the Polka Dot dress. As I mentioned ^^^, Sindy clothes are a better fit, and they look cute too.

Leave a Reply

