Pound Shop Clothes Part Two – Starring Leas 52, 53 and 54 

22 May

On my second Pound Shop Expedition last week, I made a very interesting discovery indeed. Barbie clothes! Now, where I live, carded Barbie clothes are not sold in many shops and when they do crop up they tend to be overpriced. Imagine finding them for a pound a throw, then! Obviously I bought one of every pack they had. 

When I got them home, I worked out that my five packs added up to three outfits altogether – not at all bad for a fiver. But who to try them on? Well, in an attempt to impose some order on myself I have recently compiled a list of Leas I own but who I haven’t photographed or written about. There are more than I thought there would be – too many more. So, to clear some of this backlog, I thought I might as well post about three of my Fashionista Leas while using them as my outfit models. 

And here they are: three very different-looking dolls, three different body types, all wonderful Leas. Left to right, we have Leather and Ruffles (Fashionista Number 44), Ruby Red Floral (Number 19) and Pretty in Paisley (Number 41). First, Leather and Ruffles: 

Leather and Ruffles is a VERY diffferent kind of Lea. To the best of my knowledge, she’s the first Lea to sport what we have always called an “undercut”, that is, a partially shaved head. Faceupwise, she’s not a billion miles away from the “Glam Nights” face that we also saw on some basic dolls, although I think she has a very unmade-up kind of look which is more androgynous than Glam Nights. Of course, I was like a kid in a sweetshop over this whole wave, but Leather and Ruffles was one of my top picks. Her box clothes are also quite nice, although personally I have a rule about not wearing grey and beige together so I think I prefer her in her alternative outfits rather than the one she came in. 

In these photos, Leather and Ruffles got the black and white striped top and also my favourite Pound Shop piece – denim shorts with floral footless tights built in. I had heard that most of the modern clothes will fit different body types but it was gratifying to actually try this out successfully. I think this look really suits her.

Next, Ruby Red: 

So, Ruby is basically “Neko-with-a-Twist” – red lips. I would be lying if I denied being a leetle bored with Neko now – as well as the Fashionistas, the Neko face has featured in the “I Can Be …” and Made to Move lines, and although I personally think its a very interesting face, its probably time for Mattel to give it a bit of a rest. Having said this, of course I like this doll. Her original outfit is adorable and the red lips do freshen her look a little.

Ruby got the swimsuit. Its cute, but I wish they hadn’t included the frill which isn’t quite long enough to be a skirt. Then it would have been easier to use it as a vest top with some jeans, which would look cute. 

Last: Pretty in Paisley, the first Petite Lea: 

Before I saw her in the plastic, I was just as excited about Pretty in Paisley as I was about Leather and Ruffles. Her half and half hair!! She kind of reminded me of a Flavas doll. However, sad to say that she is not my favourite Lea from the Fashionistas. Firstly, her skin is a strange peachy colour and I’m not sure if I care for it. Second, although I have nothing in particular against the Petite body type and own quite a few, I think this Lea’s head just looks too big for such a little frame; they really should have done a better job of scaling her and if I can find a better body that matches her colourwise (a challenge because of her peachy colour) I’d consider rebodying her. Third and worst: she is afflicted by Frog Eye (where the eyes,seem to be looking outwards in opposite directions), as are many versions of her. What a shame! Her promo pictures were beautiful. She is still cute – I just think she could have been stunning. Sigh. 

Again, I was pleasantly surprised how nicely this top and skirt fits on her Petite body. I haven’t tried it on a Tall yet and i’ll be interested to see if it works. 

So – there we go. Have you found any bargain Barbie clothes recently? If so, let me know – I would like to know if there are other sets floating around out there, waiting to be snapped up. 

2 Responses to “Pound Shop Clothes Part Two – Starring Leas 52, 53 and 54 ”

  1. wendydirks May 22, 2017 at 1:01 pm #

    Wow, the Pound Shop! I have never thought about looking there for Barbie clothes. I might try to entice my husband to drive me there later today! Barbie clothes for a pound! Even he might get excited!

  2. Andrea May 23, 2017 at 2:10 pm #

    I wish our cheapo stores had these. The only bargain in new Barbie clothes can be made if one of our stores runs a 20% off toys promotion. Love the shorts and the striped shirt, too.

Leave a Reply

